We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caffe e Cucina - CLOSED

Caffe e Cucina
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was the best meal of our holiday in Edinburgh. A small Italian restaurant that also does coffee and cake. We had a meal at lunchtime which is cheaper if you pick from the special menu. Really good friendly service without being over the top. Food was excellent - my husband had mussels and he said they were the best he had ever had. I had chicken which was also delicious. We called in for cake separately and that was also good. Worth the detour but was busy when we went so you may want to book.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ducatigirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    42
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tasty, colourful food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We ate there last night and I had a grilled vegetable salad which was delicious and only £9.
Service was also great. The other 2 people had the monkfish special which was delicious.

First time I've been but I'll definitely go back

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CJS7359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had brunch here recently, it was ok. No gluten free bread available which is a basic requirement these days and not hard to find in any supermarket.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yumsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff, great people watching”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Caffe e cucina
A great Italian restaurant that does everything it does well. There is a great wine list and an equally great menu that has daily specials. I've been in several times and had nothing other than great friendly service, great food and really good coffee.

There is a small terrace outside and seats when the rain is not horizontal which makes for great people watching. The place is normally very busy and weekends would be as well to book I would have thought. The staff are of the genuine, real Italian variety not simply someone from Oxgangs doing an Italian accent. You know the type !!

A little out of the city centre (10 mins taxi/bus) in Morningside but worth the trip. Recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Morningside Jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Wonderful fresh Italian food, great service and always welcoming. Have been at all times during the day/evening and the atmosphere is always good with a variety of ages enjoying excellent food and drink.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe e Cucina also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing