We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great staff, great people watching”
Review of Caffe e Cucina - CLOSED

Caffe e Cucina
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff, great people watching”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Caffe e cucina
A great Italian restaurant that does everything it does well. There is a great wine list and an equally great menu that has daily specials. I've been in several times and had nothing other than great friendly service, great food and really good coffee.

There is a small terrace outside and seats when the rain is not horizontal which makes for great people watching. The place is normally very busy and weekends would be as well to book I would have thought. The staff are of the genuine, real Italian variety not simply someone from Oxgangs doing an Italian accent. You know the type !!

A little out of the city centre (10 mins taxi/bus) in Morningside but worth the trip. Recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    42
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Morningside Jewel”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Wonderful fresh Italian food, great service and always welcoming. Have been at all times during the day/evening and the atmosphere is always good with a variety of ages enjoying excellent food and drink.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fabulous Italian Cuisine”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I recently had lunch here, overall a very good experience. The flavour of the starters and main course was excellent. The starter was very large the main was quite a small portion. The coffee tasted really great. This is definitely a place to visit if you enjoy Italian food. A slight complaint would be the toilets were not very clean but that must not put you off I'm über fussy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bighalders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 485 helpful votes
“Lovely early dinner”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Recently dropped by for an early dinner after a day of shopping.
We were lucky to come by without reservation when we did, as the restaurant fast became busy behind us!
I opted for Linguine rucola e pomodoro, pasta with chilli and cherry tomatos, which was very tasty and fresh; while my partner opted for a Contadina pizza, again very fresh and tasty.
We liked the quirky decor of the restaurant, and that you could see into the kitchen.
Moderately priced, we would probably return if back in Morningside.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, tasty food with wonderful service”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The food is simply fantastic. Fresh, delicious and beautifully cooked it is one of my favourite places to eat. It has an intimate atmosphere and a great buzz about it. The service is second to none. Whether it's a heavenly cake or some of the best seafood I've ever tasted I would recommend Caffe e Cucina.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthmc19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe e Cucina also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing