We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great little appartment and location”
other travelers have booked this property
The Castle from the kitchen window
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Castle from the kitchen window
Living room Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
The Castle from the kitchen window
Living room
Living room
Living room detail.
Entertainment corner of living room.
View from one of the living room windows.
Fully equipped kitchen with all appliances. Amazing castle views.
The building.
Amazing view of the castle from the kitchen.
Kitchen detail.
Dining area with extending butterfly table & 4 chairs.
Bathroom with shower.
The cosy 'Hideaway' bed with superior mattress.
Snuggle down and watch TV from the luxury of the 'Hideaway' bed.
The apartment building.
The Castle from the Grassmarket
The Grassmarket. Enjoy a bite to eat outside or inside after visiting the local shops.
The West Bow, Grassmarket.
Coffee in beautiful Princes Street Gardens, only a 10 minute stroll away.
Rooftop view from a living room window.
Entertainment in the Grassmarket.
Pub dining in the Grassmarket.
Edinburgh - 'Athens of the North.'
Night view.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

TheSexyBe...
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great little appartment and location”
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This is a great apartment for one or 2 people. I was by myself so plenty of room. The location is GREAT! You have easy access to everything and the "Hop on Hop off" bus stops right down the street about a block away. The pull down bed is actually very comfortable and I slept very well. It was stocked with everything I needed. Getting to and from the Airport was a snap (Check google maps for best route) and getting into the apartment was by far the most painless and simple process I have had with any rental and trust me I have done a few!
The kitchen is fully functional and I cooked every breakfast and had my morning coffee in peace. The area is safe and there is a secure front gate. Keep in mind you have to traverse 2 flights of stairs, but I am 51 years old and did not have any problem.
Every email was answered promptly and the apartment was very clean and tidy. The hot water pressure in the kitchen is kind of low BUT the water that comes out is mega hot (like lava hot) so that makes up for the lack of pressure. They laundry machine worked like a charm and kept me in fresh clothes for the week.
I really enjoyed my stay and would do it again!

Date of stay: June 2016
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2016
Thank you! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley L
1 review
“Great location”
Reviewed April 1, 2016 for a stay in June 2015

Great location in the center of Edinburgh, was able to travel easily on public transport. Close to airport. Quiet considering central location with great view of castle

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisacupca...
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy flat close to all attractions and city centre”
Reviewed January 31, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Lovely, warm, clean home, perfect to return to after a day's sight seeing and lots of walking round the fabulous city.
On arrival the block and stair well to be flat look a little grim, but do not be fooled once inside it is gorgeous and well decorated.
The kind provision of a few items such as bread, butter milk etc was most welcome. All amenities within the flat are efficient and easy to use. The bed although a pull down was comfortable and big enough.
A great little place for a very reasonable price.

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location was close to castle etc
Liked least: The entrance and stairwell were a little grim
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location and stunning view of Edinburgh Castle”
Reviewed December 2, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We loved this cozy apartment, close to Grassmarket and Victoria Street, near a grocery store, and not far from the National Museum of Scotland, which I highly recommend. The flat was warm and comfy. The pull-down bed was big enough and comfortable enough for two adults. We will definitely rent this flat again if we return to Edinburgh.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the view.
Liked least: It is small with the bed down and the kitchen is tiny, but that just made it all the cozier for two.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
psc1964
malta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ticks all the right boxes.”
Reviewed October 16, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was my first time to Edinburgh and am always a little anxious when booking accommodation especially when travelling alone, but I needn't have worried as this is a fab little apartment that ticks all the right boxes, starting from the location right up to the apartment itself. Entrance is through a coded gateway so this gives it added security.
The apartment is cosy yet spacious, even when the bed is out. I absolutely hate small spaces that give that closed in feeling so really loved the spacious feel to the apartment.
I cannot fault anything - it's spotlessly clean, has all the gadgets one might need for a comfortable stay, has a well equipped kitchen, lots of towels (should you need them) and the luxury of a lovely bath (a rarity to find nowadays).
The welcome pack certainly is a plus - especially when arriving late and all you want to do is put your feet up and relax after a day of travelling. Also having WiFi also is another plus - something I rely on for keeping in contact.
Oh and of course the owner's communication and directions were spot on.
The only 'fault' I can think of is I don't think I read any mention of the stairs before booking (I might have overlooked this tho). This didn't present a problem for myself but might have if my husband was travelling with me.
I would look no further if I traveled to Edinburgh again as this apartment has it all.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, cleanliness - basically everything
Liked least: the steps - not an issue to me but something to be aware of
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2015
Thank you for a lovely review and I'm glad the flat suited you so well. I did mention the stairs in the ad - I have written that the flat is on the second floor and not suitable for anyone with mobility difficulties. Traditional tenement properties in Edinburgh generally do not have lifts, but foreign travellers are not usually aware of this and also not used to climbing stairs! Being only on the 2nd floor and not the very top, there are not too many stairs, luckily, and they do keep us fit.....
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan B
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, loved it”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A great apartment in an amazing location.
Would highly recommend to anyone.
Every sight worth seeing is within walking distance, and anywhere further afield is no more than a bus trip away.
The apartment itself was kept clean and had everything that would be needed, as well as a nice welcome pack upon arrival which sorted us out for our first night's meal.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and comfiness
Liked least: Bed was a little small, but that's being really picky
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine...
Pender Island, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Location, location, location...”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

If you want to be in the thick of things this is a really cute, cozy flat within walking distance of everything. Nice large tub in the bathroom that my 6'7" husband was able to stretch out in. If you plan on eating in the kitchen is not very roomy but who needs to cook with all the pubs and eateries so close by.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Was a little noisy at night so we had to close the windows at night.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.