We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay at weekends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Northumberland Hotel
Ranked #148 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Angouleme, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't stay at weekends”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Very loud birthday party that didn't finish until 12, might have been ok if it wasn't for the deep bass moving the room. Little things like the tv and shower not working properly didn't help. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    54
    74
    73
    139
See reviews for
81
98
35
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days from (19th -23rd May 2013) and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The staff were friendly, the room comfortable, the shower hot and powerful. The location was superb with a huge mall located just 5 mins away by foot. The city centre is just a 10 minute bus ride away. Would recommend this place to anyone who wishes to find a place to stay for any occasion. Plus they've got a function room for various occasions from weddings to birthday parties!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathanielngliwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

They informed us at check in we had to pay a 5% surcharge to use our credit card (3% to use a debit card). They later refunded me that surcharge when I pointed out there was no mention of that on the Booking.com web site. We checked in for a two night stay for Friday and Saturday. We found out that night there was a Function Hall below our room with loud music and dancing until midnight. After midnight people stood outside under our window talking loudly. There was no fore warning before or apology afterwards when we complained. They insisted on charging me 3 GBP for internet when it clearly stated on the Booking.com site it was free and available in all public areas which generally means everywhere. I paid the room rate of 77 GBP and later had a chance to stay on a Sunday night for 33 GBP. I chose another hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the weekend unless you are assured there is no function at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBigTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Loved it!! Hotel was easy to find, secure free parking, friendly staff. The hotel is a very old building and they have kept the original layout of the rooms. Original windows with working shutters. Really nice building. The beds are comfortable and the shower was hot and powerful so there was nothing to complain about. We slept in on the last day and were 2 hours late for check out but were still greeted with a smile.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I am just back from an overnight stay with two girlfriends at the Northumberland Hotel! We got a triple room for £65, should have been £165, then there was a charge of £7.50 each for breakfast....I will come back to that! The room looked ok at first, but upon closer inspection it was filthy, layers of dust everywhere, beds were ok & bathroom clean enough, walls paper thin. As for breakfast, we were asked if we wanted a cooked breakfast, we said yes, we assumed the lady would come back & ask what we wanted, no, we were served a standard cooked breakfast, most of which we did not eat, sausages were disgusting, assume frozen ones, egg partially cooked as was black pudding, frozen hash browns, the only thing I ate was fried bread & beans & paid £7.50 for the pleasure. We wont be staying again im afraid .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

A large, old building with ugly and badly equipped rooms. Old, creaky bed. Peace in the middle looks like someone gathered up the old and useless furniture from the neighbors. The secreted slice of the room is serving as the bathroom. I suppose someone-self-taught enthusiast tried to lay tiles and to install sanitary facilities. He managed a rather poorly. Unfortunately, the room was really ugly. As a consolation, I can say that the price very reasonable, taking into account a very good location

Room Tip: I have seen only the one room (my) and it has been ugly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARGOLCIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

The manager Dave was plesant and helpful, a good breakfast was just an extra £7 but we found the continental breakfast was great value at £4. The room was standard. We stayed from Friday untill Sunday and got very little sleep as there were parties on both these nights and the music blasted till 12 0'clock and the party goers were noisy for sometime after that again, there is no way anyone with young children could stay there. Also it would not suit someone with walking disabilities there is no lift and the room we stayed in was 3 flights up. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sixtieschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#132 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#145 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Victoria Park Hotel
#123 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Hotel Twenty
#146 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northumberland Hotel

Property: The Northumberland Hotel
Address: 31 - 33 Craigmillar Park | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Northumberland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Northumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northumberland Hotel Edinburgh
The Northumberland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing