We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No room service?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Northumberland Hotel
Ranked #146 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Greece
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No room service?”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Plus: The room was good and modern, wifi was free everywhere and the hotel was near a bus stop (about 10 minutes from north bridge-center)

Minus:
-NO ROOM SERVICE. And what i mean is that the only thing they did for the 4 days we stayed was to strew the blanket not even the sheets!!
-No clean towels at all, they didn't change them never and the first day when we left the towels on the floor, they folded and they put them on the bed (they were still wet)! No shampoo or foam bath after the first day, so come prepared!
-When we first came in we found black hair everywhere in the toilet and near the washbasin, really disgusting.
-No elevetor, many stairs and we stayed on the second floor so we have to carry upstairs our luggage (imagine the stairs in an apartment in Amsterdam).
-Too cold during the night

Really, you can find cheaper and better hotels than this.

Room Tip: Choose first floor in order not to carry your luggage on the second floor (no elevators)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    56
    77
    74
    142
See reviews for
83
101
36
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aveiro
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The hotel is located not so far from the Golden Mile (it is possible to walk - about 30 minutes). Otherwise, there are public buses (1.4 GBP one way). There is a free private car park behind the hotel.
Only continental breakfast is included into the price.
Corridor doors are constructed so that it is very difficult to pass with luggage.
There is absolutely no support for soap/shampoo/etc in the shower cabin.
2 separate taps in the wash basin.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iouA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I chose this hotel because finding affordable accommodation in Edinburgh isn't easy. The location is about 1.5 miles (2.5km) from the city center, but extremely easy to reach with several buses coming and going from the hotel every few minutes. So no disappointments there. The people at the hotel are very friendly, and they will go a long way to help you. The only note of disappointment is that they didn't give us fresh towels for four days, nor did they really clean the room... we could see that someone had come in to check, and hanged our towels by the radiator, but the shower box, for example, had not been cleaned, nor the floor vacuumed. While I suspect such service may not be uncommon in Edinburgh, it's not really up to my standards. O.k. for the price, but otherwise not extremely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f64CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Northumberland is in a beautiful building and was decorated nicely as well, maybe a bit worn down. They had a decent continental breakfast which was nice. There was four of us and we were placed in the biggest room in the place. It was quite lovely with four beds and a tv. The biggest drawback was that there was no ventilation. We were informed that it was unusually warm when we were there and usually it is fine. It is a short bus ride from the city centre or about a half an hour walk. Another plus was the staff were super friendly and accomodating. I definitely recommend this place if you do not have a high budget.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anonymous482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

my friend and I booked this hotel, when we arrived there was about 10am in the morning,we got told we only can check in after 2pm, that was fine to us, so we paid but didnt check in, the reception lady was nice, she let us left our luggage there then we went out for lunch.

by that time when we got back was about 2pm, we asked if we could put our luggage into our room now, as the new reception guy told us our room number, but he said no, because the leanner was cleaning the room,and leave our luggage there were not safe!!!

i also asked if he could help us to take our luggage to upstairs as the hotel has no elevator,he said to us: NO! we can not, we are not allow to touch your luggage!!!, this was worest words I heard from a hotel reception!!! I even couldnt believe that he said that.

anyway, then we asked if we could get wireless code, he said, NO! you have to pay for!, then I told him when we booking it said the wireless is free.so we should able to get wireless free, then he said,okay, i will give you the code, but when i check his website, it obviously says free, why he tried to cheat me???

Finally we moved our luggage to our room, the room we booked online was twin room, we got a room which looked like a famliy room, we had a doubel bed and single bed,but both bed has roles,so its very easily to move, more like temporary setting.
and we dont have table or desk, the terrible thing was our shower wasnt working, no hot water from the tap and washing base, we went to the receiption downstairs, no one there, the receiption was closed, we dont have phone in our room either, so we had to wait till in the morning, the only good point was the room was quite, we were both very tired from the travelling,

8am in the morning, we went down to the reception, still no one there, then we met one woman there to ready the breakfast, we understood she was busy for reading breakfast, but we had no one can help, so we called her to check, she was rush and rude enter our room without knocking the door.but finally we had hot water for shower,which we couldnt complain more.

but when we asked if we could leave our luggage after we check out, so we can go do some shopping and come back, the reception guy said:YES, you can but you need to pay 7pounds for 3hours.(I cant remember exactly how many hours he said, as I was really angry by that time), I told him, that all hotel we had stayed, noone charge us to leave luggage after check out.he careless said:this hotel does!

anyway, I just want to say Im not a picky person, as we checked in another hotel at same road, more close to the center, even them can't believe what happened to us, so i just want to clear here:I will not and never recommend this hotel to anyone,unless they improve their terrible service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

For the money it is just okay. Easy access to city center (on a main bus route) and not a bad walk if the weather is nice. Staff is friendly and breakfast area clean and well stocked with basic continental breakfast items. The room we had was dirty with badly stained carpets, and leftover trash in closet and drawers. Bathroom with mold in the shower and lukewarm water temperature. Fortunately the bed linens were clean. There are several other guest houses on the same block and they might be better quality, but for a place with free parking and a reasonable price it suited us since all we needed was a place to sleep. Definitely a "bargain basement" sort of place and would not be suitable for anyone who wants a bit more luxury. And be sure to bring your own shampoo!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Twenty
#145 of 149 in Edinburgh
536 reviews
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#138 of 149 in Edinburgh
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#139 of 149 in Edinburgh
56 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#143 of 149 in Edinburgh
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northumberland Hotel

Property: The Northumberland Hotel
Address: 31 - 33 Craigmillar Park | Newington, Edinburgh EH16 5PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Northumberland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Northumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northumberland Hotel Edinburgh
The Northumberland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing