We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Britannia Edinburgh Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$141
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$654
$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$179
$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$324
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$265
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$106
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$156
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$168
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,934)
Filter reviews
1,934 results
Traveler rating
145
333
420
361
675
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
333
420
361
675
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1,114 - 1,119 of 1,934 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I am writing this review from the room of Britannia Edinburgh, I have just paid £40 for one night now thinking could have paid more and chosen some other place or a b&b. Very smelly washroom and as a result room too, reported it to reception only to be told that the extractor fans in the whole hotel aren't working so had to live with. Filthy corridors, shabby washrooms, dirty kettle but the best thing is size of the actual room. It's a fairly decent sized room but certainly needs attention. It is an old Travelodge as previously mentioned and to us it looked like ruins of one. Definitely not the kind of place where one could stay for a longer holiday. I'm glad it's one night we are staying. I have definitely learnt to read reviews before booking for future.
Beware...

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

After reading some of the reviews I was dreading my trip to Edinburgh, for a poor hotel can spoil the whole experience.
SURPRISE number 1. Staff were very friendly and efficient.
SURPRISE number 2. Entrance, hallways AND room were spotless. Sure there were marks on a wall here and there, but at the end of the day it is generally a guest who causes these marks.
Breakfast was more than adaquate and the staff never stopped cleaning after the guest left.
For the price, which included a bottle of wine, it was well worth the money.
Convenient for the city. All in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have just arrived back from a Groupon deal to the above hotel. On our arrival we found the room to be the most basic we've ever stated in. Room walls were dirty, there was a plastic bag placed around the shower head to prevent leaks. The bed was just awful, so noisy, not in a good way. So hard, creaky. Any movements would cause the other person to wake up. We never slept a wink. Corridors were dirty, cracked, damaged where the cleaning carts have hit against them. Breakfast was ok, bit dried up but edible . Car parking costs £3 for up to 24hrs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelle4kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My partner and I booked this hotel though wowcher. What a mistake, the building was shoddy from the outside and shoddy inside. It's quite obvious all their money has been spent on the reception and bar area (which isn't outstanding anyway). The room was extremely basic, so much so that we kept referring to it as a prison cell! There were hairs in the sink and on the headboard of the bed (gross!) and the bed was the most uncomfortable thing I've ever slept on. We didn't bother showering during the one night we stayed there as we probably would have come out dirtier than going in! There were cable ties on the shower rail for some weird reason which were filthy and looked like they had dried blood on them. Anyway we sucked it up and stayed the night in this freezing cold and horrible room and was glad to be out the next day. The only okay thing about it was the breakfast, even the staff were quite rude, didn't ask how we slept or anything. We are by no means snobs as we've stayed in £20 a night hotels before now and never been this appalled. Seriously don't stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bevlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel turned out to be much better than expected as we had read the numerous awful comments on Trip Adviser after having bought the Groupon deal and were very apprehensive about what to expect. Service at reception on arrival was good. We were given a room on first floor to discover key didn't work but on going to reception we were told that we should not have had that room and were given another room on the second floor which turned out to be fine and adequate for our stay. Room was clean as was the bathroom and beds comfortable. Bar area was good and bar service fine and we enjoyed our inclusive bottle of wine in the bar area.. Breakfast was okay but perhaps scrambled eggs and black pudding not quite so good as the rest. Corridors perhaps a little tired and in need of a coat of pain but we felt that for what we paid it was perfectly okay and sufficient for our needs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews