We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a move on with the renovations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #148 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Get a move on with the renovations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is in a great setting but is very run down.We have stayed here many times when it was still travelodge so know how varied the rooms can be. We spent a long time checking in to find a room which didn't have horrible bathroom, dreadful mattress etc.
The reception staff were EXCELLENT, very helpful and friendly. Rating of 5 for them but only 2 for the state of the place and for the pathetic signs warning folk to bring no food or drink in to the hotel. Streuth!

Room Tip: They will be renovated soon so hopefully will be better quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AberdeenshireArnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    306
    371
    317
    587
See reviews for
221
795
98
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Very pleasantly surprised on my recent visit to this hotel, as had read quite a few pretty awful reviews.the booking was made when hotel was a Travelodge.
No complaints at all, breakfast was excellent, layout of food could be improved.When busy, access to some of the items is difficult.
Would stay here again.Only slight downside, access via public transport is not brilliant.A decent walk to Princess street etc., about 20 minutes or so.quite doable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I had 3 nights here, our room was clean, the shower room was clean, our room (5) has a river view which was nice, cable tv, comfy bed and hearty full breakfast menu.
Great location for princes street and the royal mile Edinburgh's main high street,
10 minute walk to castle,
Could do with a bigger car park.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ednacreach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchenberg, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

un down - couldn't care less attitude - dirty - rooms towards the street noisy - bus parking and unloading - day and night -2 meters from room window, which could not be closed - hidious Price - GBP 195 for double without breakfast, talking Advantage of the Edinburgh Festival - never ever again

Room Tip: if ever you have to stay there insist on a room to the 'valley' away from street and bus par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rfp1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed there for two nights and made the reservation through bookings.com. They charged the full amount just after the reservation I made online and after 3 weeks of check out, they cheekily took out money again from my bank account!!! I made a complaint and asked for reimbursement for the double deduction and it has been two weeks & they haven't reimbursed me yet. Not only that, they are disagreeing with me and maintain that they only deducted it once.

Honestly I can ask my bank, as a third party, to track down the charge and can even take legal action if need be. But I wanted to warn you guys that this hotel is not only shabby, they will steal your money!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maitla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Checked in at this place on 28th July 2013 for 5 nights. Room was pleasant enough, Few marks on the wall, but no big deal, I wasn't expecting the Hilton! Bed was comfy. Pleasant view of the bridge and river. Unable to open the window so the room was stuffy and a little uncomfortable. Shower was brilliant. We used the lifts a lot because we were on the 5th floor and they smelled of cat pee. Must be the cleaning product they used. Breakfast was help yourself, all you can eat. Not bad at all if you have a big appetite. They have this old toaster and the early risers at breakfast kept setting off the fire alarm. On two occasions we were abruptly woken up by the fire alarm siren, and had to quickly make our way down 5 flights of stairs, only to be told, "false alarm". Yet the toaster that set it off was still allowed to be used. Parking is £3 a day, and each day you purchase your ticket from the machine outside the reception lobby and then have to get it stamped at the reception desk to be covered for 24 hours. So £15 parking for the 5 days I was there. The walk to Princess street is about a 15 minute walk and the royal mile is about a 35 minute walk from the hotel so we never used the car to get to the heart of Edinburgh. The downside to staying here has to be the lack of ventilation in our hotel room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

My daughter and I spent a few days in Edinburgh for the Fringe. I initially chose this hotel because of parking availability and price because many of the hotels prices were extortionate during the
Festival. I expected a budget hotel but none the less for bed ( with no breakfast) it was quite expensive. Although reasonably clean, the hotel was very shabby, including our bedroom. The bathroom had black mould on the tiles and there was no extractor fan. Fresh towels were provided on a daily basis, which actually wasn't necessary. The beds were very small and although clean and fresh, the mattress had no cover. I think a mattress cover is essential. Our room was above the main entrance which was quite noisy. Britannia could do better

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morag48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#132 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#144 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#141 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Edinburgh Hotel

Property: Britannia Edinburgh Hotel
Address: 69 Belford Road, Edinburgh EH4 3DW, Scotland (Formerly Belford Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Edinburgh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Waters of Leith in the West end of Edinburgh City Centre, the Britannia Hotel Edinburgh has 178 bedrooms and is conveniently located within easy reach of many of the city's major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh West End Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Britannia Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing