We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hardly any positives”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #150 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Where do I start?! It's in the quiet part of town which is ok if you're happy walking for half an hour to anywhere decent. It's close to the Zoo and the castle if you have a car which is nice. The hotel itself is in such a degraded state, it is pretty much a hostel with your own shower. The in house 'restaurant' is basically a little chef type servery so very downmarket, but don't even THINK about bothering if you have a wheat allergy. Completely unhelpful staff and absolutely no idea to accommodate. Perfect should you enjoy everything either fried, greasy or breadcrumbed. I will recommend to everyone i know who are planning to stay in Edinburgh to STAY AWAY from this hotel unless you are used to extremely poor accommodation. I had to move rooms because the window latch was broken and the window in -5 degree temperature kept flying open. The floor I moved to after complaining has plaster coming off the door frames as your step out of the lift and so very noisy from the corridor. Room is no better - shabby state, handles removed from cabinets with no hair dryer and no telephone to call down to reception. All windows are single glazed too so noisy from street noise and very, very cold. This is possibly the worst place I've ever stayed in. Never again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ninaaargh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,221 - 1,227 of 1,871 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for a rugby wekend.It served its purpose i.e somewhere to rest but wouldn't stay here if I was with my partner on a short holiday.In my opinion needs upgrading.Room appeared tired although clean.Short walk into the town which was convenient.Breakfast was very good but is slightly over priced as per travelodge,Staff polite

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metcalfe22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed for 2nd time in hotel during recent rugby weekend. Had family room 129. Nice big room in older part of building. Would reccomend you ask for this room.

Staff great, room clean, all you need. Its somewhere to sleep. Its a travellodge at end of day. You get what you pay for!

10 min walk to Haymarket, around 20 to Princess St.

Parking £3 a day for residents. Little tip is to pay on hill and its free. Will use again.

Room Tip: Park on hill for free parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjb74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel isn't central but is a fairly short walk from Haymarket Station. We did walk to Rose Street, though it took us a fair while. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. Bar service good and the breakfast excellent. Our room was very basic however we did have a lovely view of the weir. Have to agree that the beds were smaller than your average single bed! The bathroom was clean with lovely fluffy towels, however the loo seemed to have problems with flushing! Tea and coffee facilities and tv also in the rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night last weekend which was also the weekend of the Scotland Wales rugby match. The hotel was packed and staff seemed run off their feet when we booked in but the woman on reception was very pleasant. Our room was clean, basic, as expected - we had stayed once before.
The problem was that in the middle of the night, we heard our locked door open and a drunk man walked in. My husband ran to the door, told him it wasn't his room and he apologised and left.
Only in the morning, when we were fully awake, did we think it all through. How did he have a room key for our door? We asked at reception when we were checking out and were told, oh night staff said someone might mention this.
According to her, the man was booked in as part of a bigger group and couldn't remember his room number and didn't have a key card. But he could remember the rough area where his room was, so a member of staff had gone with him and a master key.
This seems as incredible breach of hotel security. For one thing, it seems no-one checked the room records before they set off to try and find the room. Our room was booked in my name - Fiona and there was no indication that the other person staying was male, so it could have been two females for all they knew. We didn't hear anyone knock on our door or call out before the door was opened. My husband didn't see any member of staff with the intruder, who could have explained what had happened.
We complained at the desk, but no response apart from sorry and they really didn't seem to get that it was a big security issue. I emailed Travelodge via their website on Sunday and got an automated response. Nothing since.
Maybe if they read this on Tripadvisor they will have the decency to explain to me why a complete stranger - drunk, did they really know he was a hotel guest? - was allowed access to our room and they think that's acceptable.
My husband thought he had double locked the door but from now on we will make certain every time. That was our error, but nowhere near the mistake Travelodge made.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Herringfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Accomodation

smart & clean
Rooms bright and airy
TV, Shower (head) and bath
Tea & coffee in room with kettle
Sat TV in each room
Cleaned regularly

Location
about 15 mins walk from Princes Street and main city attractions, very easy to get around with free maps from Travelodge reception.
Good breakfast bar in the mornings £7.95 per adult and kids eat free.
Hot food in the evenings via a bar menu, great after a long walk round town, (reasonable to boot)
lifts serving all floors.
late bar.
9/10 overall. it looses a point as the beds are extremely soft, so much so that you tend to roll out, or into the middle.
would highly recommend This Travelodge.
undergroud parking for residents at £3 for 24 hours, not bad for a city.
I travelled in Feb 2013 with wife and 2 kids 16 & 13

Room Tip: I had a double on the fifth floor, and a twin single next door for the kids, no issues. can't c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ffbjc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I do understand budget, but come on. This place is grimey and very tired.

Location is good for Murrayfield (a short stroll along the river). £100 for two nights is not the cheapest. Paint is flaking off the walls. Toilet pan is soiled. Bathroom floor just plain dirty. Beds no more than two feet wide.

Probably not the flagship of the Travelodge brand. Passable only if you just want somewhere to sleep and nothing else.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brd_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#132 of 151 in Edinburgh
212 reviews
West End
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#138 of 151 in Edinburgh
684 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#98 of 151 in Edinburgh
941 reviews
Old Town
Courtyard Edinburgh West
Courtyard Edinburgh West
#136 of 151 in Edinburgh
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Edinburgh Hotel

Address: 69 Belford Road, Edinburgh EH4 3DW, Scotland (Formerly Belford Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $30 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Edinburgh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Waters of Leith in the West end of Edinburgh City Centre, the Britannia Hotel Edinburgh has 178 bedrooms and is conveniently located within easy reach of many of the city's major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Britannia Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh West End Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Britannia Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing