We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, wonderful hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
Ranked #199 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 5, 2007

The Cherry Tree Villa is conveniently located: it is far enough from the city centre to avoid excessive noise but a 3 min. walk away from a major bus route where at least 6 lines will take you straight into the city centre in 5-10 minutes, depending on traffic. Our room was not huge, but absolutely pleasant, nicely decorated and with a large window making it a very bright room. Our bathroom was quite small, but also perfectly convenient. Most remarkable were the immaculate cleanliness of the facilities. The whole house in general is beautiful and absolutely clean.

The only little drawback was the fact that, although en-suite, our bathroom was separated from the room itself, i.e. we had to get out of the room, through the corridor to reach our bathroom (but this was only the case with our particular room). Although we did not find this to be a real problem, it might be slightly inconvenient if you need the toilet in the middle of the night. However, this was clearly specified by the owners when we booked the room (so that it did not come as a surprise), moreover the bathroom was clearly designated as "private" (so we never had to find someone else using it) and we still had a little sink within the room itself, sufficient to brush one's teeth etc...

Breakfast was delicious, cooked to your order by Denise, and Keith will take all the care and time necessary to advise you.

We also feel we need to give our impression regarding remarks made in previous posts about the noise policy and the behaviour of the owners: it is true that they take particular care in making sure all of their guests can enjoy a quite stay. You are therefore expected to avoid making excessive noise after a certain time, e.g. banging doors, watching TV at full volume, shouting through the corridor etc... However, we felt that what was expected from us was only the most basic rules of politeness, consideration and respect and we do not have any problem with that. Those planning to go to Edinburgh with 5-6 mates to have wild nights ending up at 4am with finishing the last bottle of whisky while playing poker in the room should definietely consider staying elsewhere. However, we MUST stress the fact at no point either Keith or Denise made us feel uncomfortable about this: on the contrary, they have been extremely friendly to us throughout our whole stay, from the moment we were welcomed at the front door until the goodbye hug we received. They even extended us a particular thanks one morning at breakfast because we were keeping our room tidy and clean (we consider this a normal thing). Although we have often stayed with friendly B&B owners, we haven't often experienced such warmth.

We really had a wonderful time at this B&B, with nothing to complain about, and the friendly hosts were certainly the best feature of all.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 204 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2007

Our stay with Keith and Denise was wonderful! They are located in a great area that is easily accessible by public transportation. The food was great that Denise cooked for us every morning. The rooms were very nice and clean. The view from our room was fantastic! Keith and Denise made us feel very welcomed during our stay. Our daughter didn't want to leave. I would highly recommend staying at this wonderful establishment. I know that when we go back, we will be booking with them!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank carocon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2007

I am genuinely bewildered by the positive reviews on this website given to the Cherrytree Villa Guesthouse. My girlfriend and I spent an inhospitable two nights there on the 17th & 18th of July 2007. I advise any prospective guests to steer clear of this establishment and avoid disappointment.

My girlfriend and I are both seasoned travellers who have stayed in all manner of hotels and guesthouses. I have never previously felt compelled to write any type of negative or critical review. On this occasion however I feel compelled to do so as this particular guesthouse was the Fawlty Towers of Edinburgh.

Our experience of Cherrytree Villa - and its proprietor's - was surreal. Upon check in we were given a 30-minute lecture on the “rules” that we were expected to obey, these included a prohibition on using the showers after 10pm in the evening, and limiting the volume of the television after 9.30pm.

One evening my girlfriend had the audacity to overstay her welcome in the shower by 5 minutes-until 10.05pm-which threw the Basil-like proprietor into an uncontrollable panic. We were informed that the noise of water would wake the other guests. When we had the impudence to complain that this was absurd, this only seemed to make matters worse.

On the following morning we were confronted by the proprietor's wife who took it upon herself to repeat verbatim the conversation that we had had the previous evening -in the privacy of our room-which indicated that she had been eavesdropping at our door. Angered that we had complained about the shower incident, she took it upon herself to attempt to pick up our suitcases and throw them out. Fortunately the suitcases proved too heavy for her and we were allowed the courtesy of leaving as we had arrived… unassisted.

No doubt the proprietors of Cherrytree Villa will reply to this review by asking people to refer to their guestbook of positive comments. Needless to say we did not sign this book.

Though this was a bizarre experience it was at least memorable. I can therefore recommend it to the sadists amongst you who may enjoy the disciplined regime of an army barracks or prison.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank Pan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2007

My husband and I booked two nights at the Cherry Tree Villa the beginning of April, 2007. This was our first B&B experience and we couldn't have been more pleased. We were made very welcome by our hosts, Denise and Keith, who treated us like members of their family. The room was impeccable with shower ensuite and a view of Arthur's Seat. Keith was kind enough to make excellent recommendations for dining and sightseeing in the limited time we had available. Breakfast was a culinary experience in itself - an excellent array of selections complete with haggis and a taste of Scotland's single malt whisky to wash it down with. The location is very convenient to local bus transportation. We arranged for a driver for our trip back and forth to the airport through the Villa and would recommend that as well.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank annerose321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2007

I first stayed at the Cherry Tree Villa in 2004 during the festival for nearly two weeks as I was working in the Edinburgh museum. I felt completely at home for the whole stay and have returned many times since. The rooms are cosy and the beds are comfortable. The breakfast is fantastic and caters for all needs and desires: there is usually a choice of fresh fruits, cereals and a full cooked breakfast prepared freah to order with all you could wish for. Sometimes people are even greeted and seen off with a wee dram! Keith and Denise are very friendly and helpful and make me feel just like at home every time I stay with them.
For anybody who wants to get a real taste of Scotland and its people, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank StephinScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2006

Cherry Tree Villa Guest House is the perfect place for a great holiday: very nice rooms, a delicious breakfast (freshly cooked and plenty of choice) that completely prepares you for a day of sightseeing in the wonderful city of Edinburgh and above all Keith and Denise giving you a very warm welcome.

Moreover Cherry Tree Villa Guest House is located in a quiet area and is easy to reach by bus, which is another great advantage.

We have been in the Cherry Tree Villa twice and undoubtedly will be going back many times!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank The_two_sisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2006

Very disappointed with the standard in this guesthouse. Nice welcome but poor breakfast. Still we came for the sights. It was a busy time in Edinburgh

Stayed: September 2006
1  Thank bslrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithDenise, Keith , Denise Patton . Owners at Cherry Tree Villa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2006

In response to the latest comment posted on the Trip Advisor site , we find it absolutely astonishing that this particular Texas couple have posted such unfounded comments on Trip Advisor .
We know the identity of this couple and the comments they have written in our visitors guest book on departure , quote " THANK YOU FOR A WONDERFUL VISIT , GREAT FOOD AND COMFORT " Sept 2006 , certainly does NOT correspond to what they have posted on Trip Advisor . Also certainly not the views of many fellow guests who stay with us

As I am sure that this couple will have noticed in our dining room the many , many thank you cards / letters from all over the world telling us how woderful as hosts we are and appreciating everything that we have done for them and making it such an enjoyable holiday . Best Regards. Keith, Denise and Lucy Patton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Cruachan Guest House
#150 of 394 in Edinburgh
60 reviews
MW Townhouse
#330 of 394 in Edinburgh
96 reviews
Ardmillan Hotel
#131 of 394 in Edinburgh
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
International Guest House
#194 of 394 in Edinburgh
90 reviews
West End
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
#45 of 394 in Edinburgh
203 reviews
Emerald Guest House
#141 of 394 in Edinburgh
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Villa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Villa Guest House

Address: 9 East Mayfield, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland (Formerly Lorne Villa)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $62 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherry Tree Villa Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cherry Tree Villa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing