We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find somewhere better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
Ranked #193 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The rooms shown on their website are much nicer than the one we had! The beds were so so and the bathroom extremely tiny and dark. Breakfast always seemed a chore to the staff. It was very basic and cooked food was just cooked. Staff would recook food when asked, but every morning was the same.
The location was good, close to the city and plenty of good eateries nearby.
There are plenty of B&Bs in Edinburgh so I would suggest staying in a better one.
Also this is the only B&B where we were asked to pay when we arrived. Now I know why!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 205 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at the Cherry Tree Villa Guest house for 3 nights. Peter and the girls were very nice and friendly, giving lots of suggestions and making very easy our time in Edinburgh. Rooms and bathrooms are very clean. Breakfast was nice. We had to come back the week after and Peter offered to take care of one of our bags while we were away. Last but not least, located in a rather quite road but 1 min walking distance from bus stop (or 15 mins walking from city center).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELovisari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Really friendly staff, great service. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, and the breakfast was nice. We are definitively coming back the next time we are in Edinburgh. Handy with parking on the road just outside the b&b.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredrik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had the double with a seperate bathroom, which was ok, do not like the carpet on the floor of the bathroom. The breakfast was certainly a basic budget breakfast. In comparison to all of the places we have stayed in to date this would have to be the most disappointing, especially when we had checked Trip Adviser reviews.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_K12_12, Manager at Cherry Tree Villa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

We offer continental breakfast with 6 type of cereals, fresh pastries, fresh bread and toasts, fresh fruits, cooked to order full English breakfast, fruit juices and fresh tea or coffee.

Apologies that the blue carpet was not an appealing colour.

We will do our best. Thanks Brenda for the comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed here due to business meetings in Aberdeen the following day. I had to leave the hotel before breakfast was served but Peter left a packed breakfast for me....I have to admit it was not up to much but the thought was there.

Some of the reviews will tell you that the rooms are dated, I agree but the hotel is clean, the rooms are equally clean and in a lovely part of the city.

My only complaint was breakfast on my second and last day. I was offered the usual Full English, prepared and served by the morning staff.

My opinion of the breakfast was poor....the sausage was not cooked properly. If you looked carefully at the single sliced mushroom it did not make a complete mushroom......the best is yet to come....I counted the beans, sad I know but it does not take long to count 23 baked beans..

In all, not a bad place to stay but the breakfast was rubbish....Sorry Pete but that's my opinion....

I would stay again but we would need to talk about the food...

Room Tip: Not Room 3 if you don't like stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip1956776264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_K12_12, Manager at Cherry Tree Villa Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Like owner like business. Both a bit old but very very nice. So we're both getting cosmetic enhancements this Summer. Also, when you're back next month we're going for a meal to make up for our lapse and lack of beans and sausages that morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great value and easy walking to central Edinburgh. Comfortable beds and clean facilities. Peter the owner a really jovial chappie and very helpful. Breakfast is included with ample choice. Would return again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBH648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The owner Peter makes a stay at this guest house a friendly and welcoming experience. The guest house is clean and comfortable, even if the decor of the room was a little dated and facilities simple. The guest house is a short bus ride along one Main Street to the centre where you will find all the main attractions, it was also walkable or a taxi was about six quid on the one time we did that.
The guest house is a nice short walk to Holyrood park and st Arthur's chair with the great views over the city.
Peter, the host, was helpful for advice on travel, getting around and helped us with our tickets for the zoo. Great food, great sights and friendly people in this city that has a lot of history but feels more like a town than a capital.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dorstan Guest House
#72 of 393 in Edinburgh
192 reviews
Mackenzie Guest House
#124 of 393 in Edinburgh
81 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#105 of 393 in Edinburgh
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Allison House Hotel
#107 of 393 in Edinburgh
197 reviews
Appin House
#86 of 393 in Edinburgh
138 reviews
The Riccarton inn
#176 of 393 in Edinburgh
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Villa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Villa Guest House

Address: 9 East Mayfield, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland (Formerly Lorne Villa)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $62 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherry Tree Villa Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Cherry Tree Villa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing