We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Edinburgh
Post
Inbox
Search

“Why do people dislike this place? They shouldn't.”
Review of The Cramond Inn

The Cramond Inn
Ranked #2,069 of 2,946 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $1 - $1,296
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Postcode EN4 6NU
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would have thought the no phones, cash only, no swearing and children in a separate room would garner a veritable swathe of glowing reports. If you want a quiet drink and a chat in a quaint boozer away from noisy, loud, technicolour modern w**k then this is the place for you. If not, don't give a giraffe a bad review 'cos it's not an elephant. OK, the drinks selection is a bit limited but that's the company that owns it, not the people who serve you. Recommended.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank GKF65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CramondInn, General Manager at The Cramond Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much fo your honest and kind review. It is like a breath of fresh air that someone can see the beauty of this little gem that we have. We do get lots of lovely comments from our customers but it is only the angry that tends to put a review (with arms & legs ) .... So again thank you for the positivities that you share.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Despite the exterior having been repainted and looking very smart absolutely nothing had changed inside having been closed for some time. This was a weekend between Christmas and the New Year and yet we were the only 4 there (4 left as we arrived)! Not a decoration to be seen, no tree, nothing at all! No food available and cash only! This lovely inn used to be buzzing and so sad to see it empty and unwelcoming.

Date of visit: December 2019
3  Thank NicolaABaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went into the Cramond inn at about 1230 yesterday. Beautiful sunny day, lots of people about. Pub empty. We were angrily directed to the back room as we had kids with us. Waited at the food window for about 15 minutes, then went through to the main bar as no one came to the window (where we had been told to order). I got out my phone to read out the order (there were 8 of us so I had typed the order in my phone). Was promptly told that it's a no phone zone and to put it away. When I explained that the order was on my phone they still told me to put it away. All 8 of us left and went elsewhere. Disappointing experience. Could be such a good business if the staff were friendly and they didn't try to impose so many rules on people.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Service
4  Thank Experience454481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was very surprised during our visit to this once iconic inn yesterday. Cash only, no dogs, no mobiles, can only serve one table at a time, no children except in separate room. Almost unbelievable experience in a local pub. Sadly, I can’t see how this place can be successful. Not able to order food as only one “slot” every 20 mins so unable to comment on the quality or choice of the food. Drank our coffees quickly and left.

Date of visit: January 2020
4  Thank Frankieessex_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

We visited the Cramond Inn on Boxing Day along with our dog and received a warm welcome. We returned yesterday and were then told that dogs are no longer allowed anywhere with in the bar, with ne explanation why. Seems strange that this has changed within 17 days. We have been taking the do into the bar for a number of years.

It seems like that this is another change in rules for this pub as there are more things you are not allowed to do that things you can do.

Very disappointed as the pub seemed to be getting better with the new owners, but it has just taken a step backwards. They are seriously missing a trick here as there are loads of people out with their dogs who would like to get out of the rain or cold and use the Cramond.

We will not be back!!

Date of visit: January 2020
7  Thank Elainemac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CramondInn, Owner at The Cramond Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review the Cramond Inn. Your opinion does matter to us.

The No Dogs Policy came in on the weekend after New Year. The company has banned dogs in all of their establishments that serve food.

The management have no control of this or any other policy the company introduce. The management have to implement and adhere to the policies.
We do understand your frustration but our hands are tied.
The only thing we as management can offer is an apology for any inconvenience caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cramond Inn also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Cramond Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing