We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pub grub” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cameo Bar

Cameo Bar
Ranked #1,029 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Cameo is a large bar situated at the Shore in Leith. We have 5 flat screen TVs' and one Big Screen for all your sport viewing needs. Relax in one of our quirky refurbished cinema style seats with a pint, and possibly a wee game of battleships. We look forward to seeing you.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pub grub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Had a decent burger during a rugby match, would recommend for similar.atmosphere was good but probably due to the sport. I'd go back for a drink but perhaps bot just for the food.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lewis3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    32
    21
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a fantastic night with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

The bar was inviting and we felt welcomed by the staff. The atmosphere in The Cameo was relaxed and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We ordered 2 different meals, which both came in good time. The food was cooked to perfection, and as requested (one steak medium-rare and one well done!) The food and drink were reasonably priced and we would highly recommend going to The Cameo if you are in the area!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank S_Lane1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cameo Bar Leith - food reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Booked a table here due to European Cup and was glad we did. Bar was packed! We had excellent table with great view of projector screen TV. Good clarity too. Food was good and reasonalbe for Leith. Drinks quite reasonalbe too. Front of bar is not too inviting but better through the back where we ate.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank GUNNER48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Typical pub food at a reasonable price. Friendly staff but I won't rush back to eat here again. Scruffy decor.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank onebrawlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sloppy disgusting food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Had lunch with father and girlfriend last month. I ordered steak rare. Firstly they brought out the wrong steak from the menu. Then after 5 mins brought me what can only be described as a sloppy greasy mess it was really disgusting. I complained to bar staff who couldn't really care. Yuk! Burgers are ok I guess, but don't venture further afield.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeQ466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cameo Bar also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Cameo Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing