We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dire”

Greyfriars Bobby's Bar
Ranked #32 of 214 Nightlife in Edinburgh
Attraction details
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dire”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Visited whilst passing for a quick meal. They advertised a new menu so all looked promising. Mine arrived with ingredients missing and my partners was mediocre at best. There are many other far better places to eat nearby that offer nicer food and better value. This places' business model appears to be simply to trade off the established name, the dog story, and tourist trail location along with the presumption that most visitors will be tourists and will not be back - Hence, AVOID.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank gjc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    51
    19
    6
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, BC, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect little Pub”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The kind of pub to expect when visiting Scotland. Huge piece of fish along with chips and the malt vinegar and ketchup were pefect after a cold, wet day of sight seeing. I had never had mushy peas and this turned out to be a delightful surprise. Only if you like peas. They were mighty fine. The drinks and pub atmosphere were a great way to end what was a pretty fine day.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Youdacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location and Great story!”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

When taking the Sandeman's Edinburgh Free Tour, you will learn the story of Bobby, the loyal Sky Terrier who belonged to the groundskeeper of the nearby Greyfriar's Abbey. When the caretaker passed away, Bobby waited on his grave for 14 years, eventually becoming adopted by the City of Edinburgh to avoid being put down for lack of an owner. Very touching story, and the bar pays a nice tribute to Bobby. Food and drinks were good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank EmmasDad34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good pub with a great story!!”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We went to this pub because we knew of the story of the faithful dog, Bobby and his master Auld Jock; a true, heartwarming tale. Walked through the cemetery and saw their grave sights. The pub had good fish and chips and COLD beer! We were served by Jamie, a very personable and entertaining server!! (April 29, 2012)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank southernthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrendous”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Genuinely one of the worst meals I have ever had the misfortune to pay money for! Myself and my girlfriend ate there last week and we were so appalled with the quality of the meals (fish and chips / sausage & mash) that we said something - which we never usually do, and were basically told to get lost. The sausage and mash consisted of 3 charred sausages and a small dollop of cold mash and the fish and chips were equally poor, with the mushy peas already congealed and rock solid upon arrival. In addition to this my pint was flat and the wine was off.
I cannot advise people strongly enough not to eat / drink in this establishment - there are plenty of much nicer bars / pubs literally minutes away and I shudder to think how many people must end up in this pub purely because of its location / name and get ripped off like we did.
Absolutely appalling.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlestonChew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greyfriars Bobby's Bar also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Greyfriars Bobby's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing