We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Curry delight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kama Sutra Edinburgh - CLOSED

Kama Sutra Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: West End
Description: Kama Sutra literally means aphorisms of love and encompasses all sensory pleasures, thus aromatic foods, seductive music, sensuous aromas and sultry surroundings all come within the Kama sphere.....welcome to the Kama Sutra.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Curry delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Once again I come back to try the fab curry produced here and leave happy. Service was excellent and the food even better. The nihari gohst was sublime and the the garlic naans perfectly made. Will definately return again

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamaSutraRestaurants, Manager at Kama Sutra Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear john I,

The best satisfaction we get is our repeat customers, thank you for your comments, they are much appreciated

warm regards

kama sutra restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

900 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    194
    66
    26
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very poor service average food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

50mins for popadoms to arrive. 2.5 hours for a lunch. Food average. Nans good. Popadoms very poor. Curry sauces not interesting. Something wrong with the food cant put my finger on what it was. Salty lassie was the saltiest ever - could only taste salt.

Helpful?
6 Thank sbarlster
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KamaSutraRestaurants, Manager at Kama Sutra Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear stupot42,

sorry you did not enjoy your experience at our restaurant, not sure what went wrong but i will investigate further with the lunch staff

nevertheless, have a happy new year!

regards

kama sutra restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Service was great, food not so much...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Went with my husband last weekend after being recommended by the hotel we we're staying at. Decor and service was great, the food not so much...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank dizzy513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamaSutraRestaurants, Manager at Kama Sutra Edinburgh, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear dizzy513,

i am sorry you did not enjoy your experience at our restaurant, we try our best but cannot cater to everyones taste. i see from some of your reviews that you like Bangladeshi cuisine, we are an indian restaurant and there will be a difference in style and taste of food, and cannot be compared.

have a nice new year!!

kama sutra restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Not great...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

We went to Kama Sutra as we were staying in a hotel fairly close by and had seen decent reviews. We reserved a table and when we arrived it seemed quite busy.

We ordered drinks and these took ages to come out. The food order was taken and starters arrived before the drinks did. We also had to ask three times for a glass of water. When it arrived it was filled literally to the brim and we were told they had ran out?!?!

The poppadom appetiser was £3.75 and for this we only received two poppadoms and a small pickle tray. The size of this appetiser comes complimentary in many other Indian restaurants!

I ordered scallops for starter - overcooked, chewy and badly presented. My partner ordered haggis pakora and he said he couldn't taste haggis for the thick greasy pakora.

By the time the mains arrived we had kind of lost our appetite. Again fairly small portions of rice for the price but curries were decent size. Naan was overdone.

Overall a disappointing meal and wish we had looked further afield.

Helpful?
7 Thank LYPud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamaSutraRestaurants, Manager at Kama Sutra Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear LYPud,

sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at the kama sutra restaurants, we try our best

having read your reviews, you are well travelled, but sometimes the problem lies with our taste, we are an indian restaurant, the other restaurants you have reviewed, and enjoyed, are not indian.

Bangladesh is a different country, and have a completely different style of cooking, and if you enjoy their cuisine, you probably will not not enjoy indian cuisine.

the popadoms and pickle tray are on the menu and only served if ordered by the customer, not many indian restaurants serve this complimentary in the uk, only some.

as for the water, thats a service issue and i, as the manager, will address that with the staff, but likely no-one will admit to running out of water, but they do say some strange things when they are under a little pressure on the floor.

regards

kama sutra restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good service, inconsistent food quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We visited this restaurant after reading Trip Advisor reviews. The decor is very nice & the staff were very attentive. The haggis pakora was very disappointing & the fusion didn't really work. Three of us enjoyed our main courses which were more than acceptable but not outstanding. Our vegetarian friend was very disappointed with her 2 small dishes which were fairly tasteless.

We found the wine pricey but good.

Overall OK but would not choose to return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 433KateP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kama Sutra Edinburgh also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing