We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”

Kama Sutra Edinburgh Indo Tapas Restaurant
Ranked #94 of 2,529 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Southside & Holyrood
Description: Kama Sutra literally means aphorisms of love and encompasses all sensory pleasures, thus aromatic foods, seductive music, sensuous aromas and sultry surroundings all come within the Kama sphere.....welcome to the Kama Sutra.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My mum and I went here on Saturday when we 1st arrived it was crazy busy we booked a table for in an hour and went to a nearby bar to wait. On our return the service was fab and the staff were extremely attentive and friendly even moving tables for us when a very large party next to us got rowdy without us requesting this. The food was amazing we had a mixed starter and shared 2 mains the monkfish was melt in your mouth everything was very fresh and delish! We are very fond of Indian food and both agreed that it was 1 of the best we'd ever had will definately be returning on our next trip to Edinburgh!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamaSutraRestaurants, Manager at Kama Sutra Edinburgh Indo Tapas Restaurant, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
thanks for your kind review, i remember you well, the welsh lads next you were harmless, just celebrating their teams victory in the rugby. we also asked the 2 girls on the other side of the table if they wanted a quiet table, but they just smiled and said they're fine, off duty police!!!

thanks again
kama sutra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    204
    67
    26
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tervuren, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Very fine dining”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We walked by this place and since it was quite late already, dashed in. We took several starters and shared them between us. Food was very nice, service was good. You can ask them to spice of some dishes, which we did and yes, it was very hot. Likely one of the best Indian places in Edinburgh.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank degtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamaSutraRestaurants, Manager at Kama Sutra Edinburgh Indo Tapas Restaurant, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
i'm very happy you enjoyed your meal, if there is any feedback you can give to help us improve your experience please let us know.

thank you
Kama Sutra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Been here few times and always get good service and my husband and I enjoy our food here, I have a chicken jalfrezi which is not on the menu but the chef makes it anyway, it's very tasty! Will try something different next time

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamaSutraRestaurants, Manager at Kama Sutra Edinburgh Indo Tapas Restaurant, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
thanks for your review, if you want to try something different next time speak to the manager, Alok, who will recommend something different. india is a vast country with many regional cuisines and everything cannot go on the menu but our chefs are able to improvise to your taste. in fact, next time try the butter chicken, its one of the staff favourites.
see you soon

kama sutra restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“This has to be one of the best Indian restuarants in Edinburgh”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Went to this restuarant after the rugby last weekend and was very impressed. There were 16 of us and the staff were terriffic.
The food was much better than other Indian restuarants we have used before in Edinburgh and is good value for money. I had the lamb shank which was delicious and one that I would recommend. Everyone else in our large group all said they were delighted with both the food and the prices.
Will certainly return on our next vist.
Highly recommended

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ianx17489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice food, nice service”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

All fine, not outstanding, but good. The fish lahori was actually great. Nice and clean restaurant. I would go back. The big disappointment was that they offer pre-theatre only till 6pm, while most restaurant go till 6.30-7pm. But they were nice enough to let us choose from the pre-theatre menu after 6pm when we asked.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UnaCoppia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kama Sutra Edinburgh Indo Tapas Restaurant also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Kama Sutra Edinburgh Indo Tapas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing