We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“romantic meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kama Sutra Edinburgh - CLOSED

Kama Sutra Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: West End
Description: Kama Sutra literally means aphorisms of love and encompasses all sensory pleasures, thus aromatic foods, seductive music, sensuous aromas and sultry surroundings all come within the Kama sphere.....welcome to the Kama Sutra.
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“romantic meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just after 10 pm myself and my husband where looking for something to eat and came across the Kama Sutra where about reluctant to go in because it closed at 11pm but so glad we did!! Decor was lovely,immaculate nd staff very friendly and very attentive. By recomendation from the manager to try the indian stlye madras this was amazing and different to a ordinary madras and would highly recomend it. We also had a south indian chilli chicken which was also very good. Will definetly have a return visit when back in edinburgh mean while will be giving the sauciehill street resturant a visit also recomended by manager!! Thanks for a lovely end to my edinburgh visit! Xx

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

900 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    194
    66
    26
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
105 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I have never really been a fan of indian food, but went here with my friend who loves the cuisine and i was willing to give it a try.
A fantastic place, with amazing food. The service is some of the best i have ever seen. A must if in Edinburgh

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brighteyes123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a meal here in December with friends who live in Edinburgh. It was their recommendation and it was spot on ! The name made us giggle. The service was very friendly and the food was first rate. We were also served, like other reviewers, by "Ziggy Stardust" and he was most entertaining. The staff genuinely care if you enjoy their food. Will definitely go again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FMMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“We went for the Name, We returned for the Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Visited during our Hogmanay visit to Edinburgh with my Fiance. We also came here on our trip to Edinburgh shortly after we met. The food here, is bar none, the best Indian food I've had in the UK.

That includes some excellent London and Manchester based Indian restaurants.

We can highly recommend the Grilled Chicken Tikka, which also comes with rice and sauce inclusive of the price. Ziggy Stardust is also a very entertaining waiter, although slightly unusual.

The atmosphere in the restaurant is spot on, and it is not a gimmick, the food is outstanding, you are not rushed even on busy nights (such as our first visit in September).

There is a Cafe Nero just down the road if you are seeking WiFi, we are sitting there right now waiting to return to Kama Sutra for a further lunch visit, and Princes Street is less than 10 minutes walk away, as is Edinburgh Castle.

A tip, on Sunday parking is free and available on street, making a trip to Kama Sutra even more appealing.

If we lived in Edinburgh, we'd be a poorer couple. as we'd come every week!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilAndrews77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great restaurant - especially when dining under taste card”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We went to this restaurant as we have a taste card which is 2 for 1 on starters and mains.

Was lovely restaurant inside.

Starters were lovely and good size, mains were lovely, as were sides.

Service was amazing and a man who i think was the owner came over at the end with the bill and chatted to us and thanked us for coming.

On taste card this was amazing value (starter, main and side for £9 or something) but even if not taste card the restaurant is still good value.

Would recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edinburgh186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kama Sutra Edinburgh also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing