We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit conventional”
Review of Starbucks

Starbucks
Ranked #118 of 131 Coffee & Tea in Edinburgh
Neighborhood: New Town
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: New Town
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A bit conventional”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Starbucks are an international brand, which means they have their set of products. This is re-assuring if you don't know the place and you wanna feel home, but on the other side, their sandwiches and coffees (and other products) are ok, but not really special or typical

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank ClaCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Wifi down”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I went to Starbucks to avail myself of the free wifi but it was down. Managed to get a comfortable seat in a good people watching spot but I would have chosen a different coffee shop if I had known about the wifi.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank annebryceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A bit grubby”
Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Most Starbucks cafés are carbon copies of one another. Everything is the same. This is the exception. The interior is scruffy and generally a bit grubby. The place could do with a good clean. And being in such a prime location, more seats are required.

Other than that, the service, food and drinks are the same as every other branch. What a shame.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fabulousminge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love the americano”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Starbucks keeps it standard all over the world. Naturally, being Americans, we had to have our Starbucks.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank cousinnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,089 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 868 helpful votes
“Nice upstairs area”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I start all my Starbucks reviews like this – the food and drink is all the same - that’s why I go there! As such, I will only mention the quality of the food and drink if it is unusually good or bad. Generally, my review will focus on the atmosphere, location, layout and staff quality.
The downstairs section off the street is a little cramped, and always seemed very busy. There are some nice bench seats along the windows facing onto George St, but otherwise downstairs is a bit too frenetic. Upstairs is a nice little room which, while also packed with tables and usually very busy, is a nice spot for a meal. Windows on the east side ensure the room is naturally lit, and it is a good spot for a snack or a meal. Decent place, recommended.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiver75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starbucks also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Starbucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing