We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”

The Theatre Royal Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #418 of 2,478 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Broughton & Calton
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This pub has a great athmosphere.It is next to the Theatre so it has bilboards of bands that acted there as well as shows from the present and the past.The staff is very nice and the food tasty.I'l suggest the Haggis, that was superbe.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SandrMoreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    96
    32
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Place”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The best place to have few drinks in the Vicinity, very friendly staff who would go out of the way to make you comfortable. The prices are moderate and food is awesome. Loved their Burgers :)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sangharsh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
384 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“not very impressed by the service”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

this pub is well located just near the Playhouse theater. we just popped in for a drink after the fireworks. I was not very happy by the poor knowledge of the waitress, she never offered a drink list, never asked if we were hungry. we just sat a the bar, it was still quiet but. the drinks came quick. I may follow the good reviews about their food and I will try to go to eat one day and I hope we will warmly welcome

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaynice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustis, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New favorite place!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Great service, great atmosphere, great food! Located close to our hotel and no reservations were required. Loved it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great”
Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

Great place! Great food and a very nice place. Some of the waiters are a bit shy, but all in all great

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stianmastberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Theatre Royal Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Theatre Royal Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing