We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ballantrae Hotel
Ranked #135 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Booked on-line - the pictures do not reflect the reality. Our double room was down in the basement - we called it The Dungeon! More like a bedsit with frosted window, small room, with tiny shower room (difficult to fully open shower door to get in) with toilet and basin. Electric socket dangerously hanging off the wall, overall quite grubby and tatty. Continental breakfast was good. The main entrance on the website is not the main entrance - main entrance is not very welcoming, plastic flowers in outside window boxes. Wish it had been like the pictures! I think this hotel needs a complete makeover.

Room Tip: Avoid The Dungeon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allotmentgirl838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

301 - 307 of 544 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Good location and Superior Room was large, clean and warm. TV (and therefore radio) didn't work. Though reported and confirmed by handyman nothing was done to fix or replace it and no compensation was offered. Paying too much for this sort of service - won't go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked into the Ballantrae b/c hard to find available hotels in Edinburgh within walking distance to Waverly Station and not pay over 200£. Booked the quad room on the first floor for a family of 2 adults + 2 toddlers.
The Good: large room with large bathroom for kids to run around, lots of space and sitting area, walking distance to Waverly Station, Old Town. Free wifi.
The OK: beds were serviceable, cleanliness (no obvious bugs), front desk staff seemed ok (the man working there appeared to try to be helpful). Affordable considering.
The BAD: construction work outside the hotel (noisy during day), the room had a very large dip in the floor, noisy outside situated right by a bar, no a/c (necessitating open windows), no elevator (read previous reviews), worn out fascade in the room (peeling wallpaper, fold out bed from couch probably 20 yrs old, wall socket did not work).

Overall hotels hard to come by in Edinburgh unless you want to spend over 300£ a night. You get what you pay for. For what we paid, approx 175£, it was ok b/c of the size of room and location.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ottodaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Well placed for seeing Edinburgh situated on a busy street not far from waverley station. Its great for ( proper pubs) and restaurants but if your'e feeling really touristy you can pop in to the oxford bar just around the corner.

my room was in the basement and quite small bu adequate for my needs and for 65 quid it was perfect.
Just be aware that at the koment the tram works are right outside so its noisy in the day

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joss1085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here for two nights late May for a wedding anniversary, paid £223 for two nights in a superior double and was very disappointed. The room was in the sister building next door to the main hotel and we had to climb 71 stairs to get to our small attic room. The room was clean but very small, no bath only a shower and the bed felt smaller than a standard double. We didn't bother with the continental breakfast because we could face the stairs for a bit of toast served in a small dinning room that doubles as the bar.
The shower was turned on by using a large screw sticking out of it, there is no shelve to put toiletries on. We asked on departure why the room was classed as superior and we were told because it had been refurbished, this was not in my mind a reason to call a room superior,
This hotel is more like a bed and breakfast than a 3 star hotel. The only plus side is the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room unless you like climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed for two nights. I knew there was no lift but explained when booking that I would need help getting my case upstairs. This help was given cheerfully. The single room on the top floor was basic but clean and everything worked, apart from the window, so it might get a bit hot in summer. The continental breakfast was excellent with attentive staff. The hotel is in a good location near Princes Street and the bus/train stations and it's not their fault that there are road works outside. I would just advise unfit people not to book rooms 1-4 - there are 70 stairs up to them! Jan Gell

Room Tip: I would just advise unfit people not to book rooms 1-4 - there are 70 stairs up to them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I booked this hotel a year in advance at £150 for 2 adults for one night and thought at the time it was going to be special. I was visiting Edinburgh for the marathon weekend festival where I was running 10k on sat and half marathon on Sunday. So Saturday nigh seemed a good time for the hotel, relying on a nice bath and a relaxing drink. But the horror started just after I had finished the 10k on Saturday and started heading for the hotel. I was feeling good from the run and the weather was great. Then I spotted the building work outside the hotel-then looked at the windows from the street and could not believe the rundown appearance. Booked into the hotel only because we had no other opinion and where given the key to a depressing basement room with no bath, a poor shower, dried blood on the washed cover. The room looked as if it was a storeroom or a boiler-room at some point. We quickly got changed and got away from the hotel but had to return to sleep there. Never took breakfast and left first thing in the morning.

This hotel spoiled a running weekend and my stay in my capital city.

This hotel owner(s) should be investigated for false advertisement.

DO NOT book this hotel and if it’s too late you are better of trying to cancel even if you lose money.

Francis McGroarty.

Room Tip: read trip advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Francis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
#127 of 151 in Edinburgh
815 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#130 of 151 in Edinburgh
18 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#113 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#59 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ballantrae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballantrae Hotel

Address: 8 - 12 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3EP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $64 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ballantrae Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ballantrae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae Hotel Edinburgh
The Ballantrae Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing