We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“National Museum of Scotland - just brilliant!”

National Museum of Scotland
Book In Advance
More Info
$11.89*
and up
Bonnie Prince Charlie and the Jacobites Exhibition at the National Museum of...
More Info
$66.08*
and up
Private Edinburgh Sightseeing and History Tour
More Info
$436.10*
and up
Private Edinburgh City Tour in a Minibus
Ranked #4 of 404 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore the diversity of the natural world, world cultures, science and technology, art, design and fashion, and Scottish history, all under one roof.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“National Museum of Scotland - just brilliant!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We visited the National Museum of Scotland today for the first time since it was refurbished. It is a beautiful building and we really enjoyed looking round it. There is certainly lots to see and something of interest for everyone. The roof garden has amazing views over Edinburgh. Well worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JanetteG467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,878
    3,024
    646
    117
    54
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canby, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Worth the Time”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We don't know why it took us so long to visit this museum (we've seen many of the others more than once), but it won't be long before we return. The museum is well set up and there are plenty of helpers to aid in finding what you want to see--I would assume you don't want to try to see it all at once. We went to a special photography exhibit, the Egyptian section, Space and Astronomy, and Early Scottish History. Everything we saw was interesting and informative (good descriptions on exhibits) and there was plenty we didn't get to see. Shops in the various sections were interesting as well, but I think I would prefer one central shop. Easy to get to just off the Royal Mile not far from the castle, the National Museum of Scotland is a Must Stop.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Some incredible exhibits”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

There are some excellent pieces in here, in what is itself an amazing old building. We didnt have time to get right round everything which I suspect would take around 4 or 5 hours, but spending about an hour was still excellent and informative.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank grahamenwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great museum with interesting stuff”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Admission is free, and their newly renovated exhibits (as of spring 2014) offer a wide variety of things to look at, from dinosaur bones to steam engines.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steven8787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A great walk through history”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The money spent on this museum has been well spent. A great lay out and well explained exhibits and shows. A great pity that they do not have an Audio guide to it. The new Scottish sector is especially worth seeing, if that is your interest, otherwise there is everything for the whole family.
The restaurant is good as is the coffee shop, except I don't like my cold drinks out of a paper cup.
You could spend many hours there, especially on a wet day. If you time is tight just go into the Scottish sector.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank VikingScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Scotland also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing