We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Museum of Scotland

National Museum of Scotland
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.48*
and up
Private Edinburgh Sightseeing and History Tour
Ranked #4 of 391 things to do in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Explore the diversity of the natural world, world cultures, science and technology, art, design and fashion, and Scottish history, all under one roof.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Having a couple of hours to spare and as the Museum was just up from our Hotel I went in for a visit, what a wonderful ecperience, absolutely everything for all ages, especially children, well laid out, bright and full of different themed area's and all this for free.
I could have spent the whole day in this wonderful arena.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ternan443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,844
    2,778
    607
    111
    44
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't miss this free little gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We chose to visit the museum on our last trip to Edinburgh and it totally exceeded our expectations. There is so so much to see while you are there and it took us absolutely hours to get around and see everything. There is a great mix of interactive areas along with information to read. There are a number of different themed areas so if you were with people who struggle to walk/stand for long periods of time you could break it up over a few days if you needed to. The building itself is magnificent and I will definitely return.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank loubylou2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This Museum is just filled with so many intersting exhibits that you really need a full day to see everything. If you have the time this is a must visit but don't go if you only want to pop in there is way to much you will miss. You can't beat free either but a donation is expected.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tvdudee44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great for familys or just on your own”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

when we visited we where looking for things to do on a budget and this ticked all the boxes.
There where some many things to look at and im sure we missed a few. Our 10 yr old daughter loved the animal room and how you could go up three levels so you looked at the room at each level.
We where shocked about how any exhibits there where. We would love to go back

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SDJJSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“lovely informative place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

loved the feel of place ver interesting didnt like the cold feeling of space but museum was so interesting you get warmed up after walking around

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank sanam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Scotland also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing