We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,247)
Filter reviews
1,248 results
Traveler rating
430
439
236
96
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
430
439
236
96
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift top floor velux window york place basement room listed building superior room lovely hotel playhouse theatre tram stop central location princes street single room full scottish breakfast main attractions tea coffee waverley station
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,248 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2019

We stayed here for two nights whilst in Edinburgh. The hotel is in a great location, an easy short walk to Waverley Train station and all the main attractions.

There isn't a lift in the hotel as it is a listed building so be aware that you may have to carry your cases up a few flights of stairs.
The room was clean and quite spacious and had great views but was very stuffy, the original sash window would only open a few inches and often closed itself shut. The secondary glazing did muffle the noise from a function taking place below our room on one of the nights. Thankfully the function didn't go on too late. I would have liked to be able to get fresh air flowing through the room to make for a more comfortable sleep. We found the bed to be very firm and not good for us to sleep well, but this is a personal preference.
We ate out during our stay in Edinburgh so cannot comment on that aspect of the hotel. I'm not sure if we'd stay here again, it wasn't bad at all but I think there are probably cheaper options that would suit just as well.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank redrose59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019

Nice clean hotel for a quick stay in the city, with a modern vibe. Only downside was at the bar, when we asked the barman to make two cocktails from the menu, he said he could not make them. So we just had to order two ‘regular’ drinks instead. The management should employ the right staff for the task at hand.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annajim2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I had booked a nearby hotel, but we were looking for a different place to eat. We stumbled into “The Place” by accident. The food was delicious, and the staff was better than great. We met the manager Arias and he was gracious, friendly, and most helpful. Highly recommend the whole operation. I would give him and his hotel and restaurant a “12” if I could.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Getaway274111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2019

We stayed overnight during the Edinburgh festival. We specifically asked for a quiet standard double room and when we got there, we'd been allocated a superior suite, we were of course delighted. The room was strangely decorated in a Harry Potter-esque theme and had a selection of books to read plus a large TV (although the controller didn't work too well, no TV guide for example)

The hotel is not far from most of the attractions in Edinburgh, a short walk to the Playhouse theatre and George street, and a short taxi ride to Waverley train station, very convenient. It's also on one of the main tram stops, and a tram ride to Princes Street is about £1.70.

The room was extremely spacious, as was the bathroom (which included bath and large shower). Room was quite warm, with no aircon, but being at the rear of the building we could have opened the windows if necessary. The bed was very comfortable.

For breakfast in the morning my partner and I had french toast with bacon and maple syrup - delicious! The breakfast options also included bread, croissants, cheese, meat, yoghurt, fruit, cereals and muesli and the usual drinks.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Room tip: Get a room to the rear of the hotel to avoid street noise as much as possible.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MurrayElliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2019

This was the cheapest and cleanest hotel we could find in August. The location was good, and our room on the top floor had an incredible view of New Town. There are no elevators, and it is quite a walk with luggage to the top! We were able to check our luggage before our check in and after our check out which was a lifesaver. The staff was great, and we loved the hotel bar. The room was clean and not too tiny.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews