We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic mid-week stay”
Review of The Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Place
Ranked #111 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Keswick
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic mid-week stay”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed here in December and as we booked fairly early we go a fantastic room only rate. After reading some reviews we were fairly apprehensive but thought the place was great! We were in a room on the third floor at the back of the hotel with some great views. The only downside was there was no lift (which we had seen mentioned on other reviews) but we always use the stairs anyway so it didn't bother us.

The room was spacious and finished to a high standard and the bed was comfortable which is always a bonus.

Because we drove we chose a place with car parking. It isn't obvious where the car park is so we had to pull up on the pavement outside and run in to ask someone. The car park is located on the side road opposite the hotel and can only be accessed by a member of staff so a lad got in the car with us and showed us the way and also offered to help us back to the hotel with our bags. The location was great. As we had stayed in the old town before we decided to stay in the new town this time and this place was right where we wanted to be, only a short walk to the shops on Princes St. and very close to pubs/restaurants/cafes and not far from the Edinburgh Christmas markets!

We didn't eat at the hotel so can only judge it on room only but our experience was a good one. Would stay again and would recommend it to anyone (as long as you don't mind walking up stairs).

Room Tip: Great hotel, great location! Try and get a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grassmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Grassmoor,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    360
    182
    75
    33
See reviews for
78
543
60
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Only a 10 minute walk from the rail station The Place is centrally located just behind Princess Street. Received a warm welcome and the staff made the effort to make sure you enjoyed your stay. Ideally located for going to the theatre, not even a 5 minute walk away. Hotel is nicely decorated as is the rooms which were well equipped for our 2 night stay. Would defiantly recommend visiting the bar and sampling the cocktails! Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: No lift so consider floor level when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stretcheroo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear stretcheroo86,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

We loved staying at The Place on our overnight visit to see The Lion King at Edinburgh Playhouse. The room was lovely and we had a great view. The shower was a little small but that didn't bother us. The bar in the hotel was really nice and the hotel staff were excellent. It's in a great location for shopping, bars, restaurants and the theatre. Definitely the place to stay. Thanks for a great time!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LA1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear LA1111,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Hotel is located very near to the center of the city. There is a walk distance to all major points in the city. Rooms are very clean, but be careful - they vary in size. My room was as small as possible (3606). I was alone and I survived but some of my friends asked for replacement ofvtheir room. Their room was too smal for two persons, especialy those at the basement. Be careful, the basement rooms are very dark and almost without air. Be pepare to walk a lot of steps. There are three wings and each of them has almost 100 steps (if your room is at the top floor). We stayed three nights in the hotel. We had B&B and one dinner. Food for the dinner was the best on our trip. Well prepared and delicious. There were some shortage of food at breakast, but if you asked and were patient you got it.
The Staff at the bar and at the reception desk are extremly frendly. They have a lot of fun with guests, they are polite and in good mood.
I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I saw the room no 3813. It is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Jo P,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stat and that eventually your friends were all able to be accommodated in rooms better suited to their needs. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
581 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on the 12th May. The location is perfect to get to all Edinburgh has to offer. The staff on reception and in the restaurant are first class, helpful and friendly nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is nicely decorated and is very clean. The breakfast was fab with a great selection. One day we had full Scottish the second I had a cheese and mushroom omelette and the third the pancake with honey yoghurt and fresh fruit all great. The only thing I did not like about the hotel was our room. We were on the top floor with over 50 steps to climb, there is no lift. As we are both well over 60 years old we only went up and down once a day. On the second day we got back and our tea tray hadn't been replenished or the cups washed but a quick call to reception and plenty of items were sent up. Our bathroom cosmetics were also not topped up after day one but we had brought some with us so used them. All in all a good stay and the girl on reception (Ciara) told us to ask for a lower room if we ever want to stay again so yes we will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor if you don't like to steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Hazel D,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and were able to sample so may of the lovely dishes we have to offer. Sorry to hear the stairs were a slight issue, but as Ciara said, we are always happy to allocate lower level rooms so long as we know in advance.
I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Great hotel in a great location, friendly, helpful staff. Excellent food! Although we were early, allowed entry to our room and on leaving, our cases were kept till train time. Our second visit and we will be back. Well done The Place!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Elizabeth T,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back for your 3rd stay.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We were in Edinburgh for an evening show at the nearby Playhouse theatre and pre-booked The Place due to it's proximity (and after consulting Trip Advisor!). First thing to note is that there is no parking at the hotel but we did pre-book an overnight parking space that is leased by the hotel at the shopping centre just a few minutes away. Our first helpful staff member was Antoine who jumped in the car & directed us to the parking and escorted us back to reception. Next encounter was with Ciara who deserves five stars all to herself. What a fantastic front of house representative for the hotel; bubbly, friendly, helpful and efficient. She was most apologetic that due to a slight mix up we could not have the room that we booked but we would still have very nice room and breakfast and the parking charge would be compliments of the hotel. We needn't have worried - the room was immaculate and very well equipped (first time I have been in a hotel room with what looked like a 47+" tv) the shower was big enough for 2 people :-). We were on the top floor and us such had an unrivalled view across Edinburgh - we could even see the Forth bridges. Second note - due to the Georgian legacy there is no lift (elevator) so unfortunately there is limited disabled access; this did not affect us but it will be pertinent to some customers.
We went off to our show & returned to the hotel's champagne bar for a night cap or two. This was almost an entertainment in its own with yet another friendly & chatty member of staff in the form of Billy the Barman. He and I spent a hilarious time teaching some Russian guests how to drink whisky - 3rd note to our Russian friend - do not down it in one - it's not vodka! :-)

After a quiet & comfortable night we headed down for breakfast. Again, more friendly, smiling & helpful staff greeted us. We opted for the full Scottish breakfast which arrived very quickly was piping hot and cooked to perfection. The presentation was faultless and given this I could believe that all meals would be of the same quality.

Could not fault this hotel at all & we'll be back for a longer stay.

Room Tip: lower floors are not so much of a climb but the top floor view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wizard_of_odds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Wizard_of_odds,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. The team here take great pride in delivering first class service, so it's nice to see so many of them mentioned in your review. Ciara, Antoine and Billy send their regards. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#128 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Twelve Picardy Place
Twelve Picardy Place
#95 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
#122 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#62 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place

Property: The Place
Address: 34-38 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the Playhouse Theatre and the city’s fashionable shopping district, The Place is perfect for a relaxing city break in Edinburgh, a romantic weekend or an escape from the stresses of corporate life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing