We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, great location”
Review of The Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Place
Ranked #111 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, great location”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed here for the weekend and couldn't really fault it for what we paid (just over 150 for two nights B and b).
Room moderrn and clean. Reception and bar area recently refurbed and very modern. We ate here for the first evening and food was very good although there was only foure of us eating so the atmosphere was lacking. The breakfasts were very good and food was cooked to order if you wanted anything different to the standard scottish breakfast.

All in all a great stay in a brilliant city!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear TheBarnes,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    372
    189
    78
    38
See reviews for
81
563
64
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Arrived on the Friday by train & the hotel was only a short walk & easy to find. When shown to our room 3817 we was very impressed with the size of the room & bathroom. Nice & clean, big bath with a nice view which I enjoyed. Only problem I found was the shower wasn't as hot as we would prefer no matter how much we turned the dial. But overall Lovely would definitely stop again. The breakfast was very nice & the staff attentive. We also drank in the bar on the Friday night. Hotel In great location for all the site seeing, shops & bars. Thankyou for making our weekend in Edinburgh special.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adhoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Adhoppy,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Sorry the hot water in your shower wasn’t hot enough for you, we’re looking into this. I’m delighted you enjoyed your weekend and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Good hotel for a weekend break in Edinburgh. Room was good size, simply furnished, clean and comfortable. En-suite was on the small size though. Great views over rooftops towards the Firth of Forth. Breakfasts good - but don't the Scots eat bacon? Location convenient for shops, sites and restaurants in New Town. On tram route too - if they ever get them running.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back - view and no traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardBCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear RichardBCook,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m glad you enjoyed your weekend break. The trams will be fully operational from May, so next time you visit you can take one right to our front door.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We arrived early on Saturday Morning in Edinburgh by train. The hotel is a 5-7 minute easy walk from the station. We were going to our Daughter's Graduation Ceremony and we needed to get changed and would be possible to get access to our room.

The staff could not have been more helpful. The receptionist contacted House Keeping who confirmed that it was ready. She then organised for a porter to carry our luggage as our room was on the top floor. ( I can't remember the last time I had a porter to carry my bags).

She then arranged for the taxi (and then chased them up because they were a tad late).

The room was fine, nice and clean. No problems at all. We finished off Saturday evening with a drink in the bar. The surroundings were very good.

Breakfast on Sunday Morning was excellent. It was at a nice lesurely pace. We checked out about 11:30 and we were able to leave our cases at reception. We went and did some touristy things and in the late afternoon we had a bit to kill before catching our train home so we before we collected our cases we had another drink in bar.

Also when the tram start running in Edinburgh (whenever that is) there will be a stop very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob-M53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Rob-M53,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Overnight stay here for a theatre trip therefore only booked standard double room. Room right at the top of 3 flights of stairs - phewww! But bathroom is terribly small. Shower in our room very slow to drain, possibly blocked - did report this to reception on leaving. The reception areas of the hotel are beautiful. Staff extremely helpful and pleasant. Would only say if you are not wanting to climb all those stair, make sure you stipulate this on booking.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojacScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear mojacScotland,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay. My apologies for the slow drainage in your shower – this has now been rectified. Delighted you enjoyed your stay, despite the stairs. Hope to see you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This was a great hotel for our overnight stay in Edinburgh. Close to all the shops and restaurants.
Room was very spacious and clean. Service was great.
Only negatives would be that the electricity in the room tripped as soon as we entered. But this was fixed instantly and had no problem with it at all for the remainder of the stay.
Breakfast was great the next morning. A decent selection of food and menu items. I was not fond of the coffee at all, I'm guessing it had been sitting in the flask a while as we were last down that morning.

Definitely a hotel I would stay at again when next visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Luke T,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m sorry the lights tripped in your room – glad we were able to sort it quickly and that it didn’t impact on your stay. Hope to see you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here on our honeymoon, and im glad we did. The room was great, the staff friendly and the breakfast was beautiful. The deco was very modern and loved the bar area. Will defiantly be returning on our next visit to edinburgh.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kim2991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear kim2991,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back soon – if not before, then perhaps for your 1st anniversary…
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#131 of 149 in Edinburgh
523 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#22 of 149 in Edinburgh
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
#122 of 149 in Edinburgh
777 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place

Property: The Place
Address: 34-38 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the Playhouse Theatre and the city’s fashionable shopping district, The Place is perfect for a relaxing city break in Edinburgh, a romantic weekend or an escape from the stresses of corporate life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing