We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected little gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Place
Ranked #113 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Unexpected little gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

I was booked into this hotel as I was working at the Edinburgh Playhouse, and would certainly come back again. It was an easy walk from Edinburgh Waverley rail station (although there was a steepish hill which might have been a problem with a bigger suitcase). Very close to the Playhouse, and also to Harvey Nicks and a large shopping centre with a John Lewis, so shopping heaven for me.

The man on reception was very helpful, and did offer to help with my case. On reflection, I should have accepted his offer - my room was at the top of two very long flights of stairs and I was struggling by the time I got there. The room itself was large, with plenty of tea making supplies, a large TV and a comfortable bed. The bathroom was a good size, warm with plenty of towels and soap etc. There were 2 armchairs and a coffee table - the table must have been a comedy one, as it was very wobbly indeed - definitely not safe to put hot liquids on. (I reported this when leaving, so hope they have fixed it for the next occupant). There was a good view over the Firth, and it was very quiet.

I didn't have breakfast. They were very helpful about keeping my case for me until the afternoon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CuriousTravellerYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear CuriousTravellerYork,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m pleased to advise that the “comedy” table was repaired after you reported the fault to us and is still holding strong!
Look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    351
    178
    73
    33
See reviews for
78
527
60
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed two nights in The Place Hotel on York Place in Edinburgh. The hotel is quite central and within walking distance of the city centre. Although our twin room was in the basement, it was quite nice and comfortable. There could have been a little bit more light in the bathroom.

Breakfast was excellent too. We had the Scottish Breakfast which was not too fat, Scrambled Eggs and Salmon, and Eggs Florentine. Breakfast dishes were all delicious and there was a nice buffet too.

Staff was very friendly. A good place to stay during a visit to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TightLoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Tightloops,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay. I have taken note of your comment regarding the bathroom lighting and we are looking into this. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we can welcome you back on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at "The Place" on 9th of January. We had gone to Edinburgh to see "The Lion King." which was fantastic. The Hotel was lovely and the staff very helpful and cheery. Right away we were given an update and we had a beautiful view of the Firth of Fourth from our bedroom window. The room was lovely. The only problem was it was on the second floor and there was no lifts. The room was large and spotless and the bed was very comfortable. Complimentry tea & coffee a large TV, which we didn't make use of and a fan which we did made use of, as although it was very cold outside the room was warm. We had a scrumptious full Scottish breakfast. The hotel was only a 5 minute walk to the Playhouse, and a 5 minute walk to the train station. We would definitely book this hotel again.

Room Tip: If like us you are senior citizens try to book the first floor as the stairs are quite steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Irene R,
Thank you for your review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you enjoyed Lion King – it really is a fantastic show! We have a close relationship with the Playhouse and have some very exciting packages coming up this year – be sure to keep an eye on our website to ensure you get the best deal!
I look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at The Place in August 2013 when we visited Edinburgh for the Fringe. Although not cheap, it was a perfect base for the festival - central (about a 10 minute slow walk to the Royal Mile) and right next door to some of the venues. However, it was also quiet so provided some respite from the mayhem in the City! Great staff, so helpful and efficient. Also great food at a reasonable price. We travelled with family and spent 3 nights here - we would definitely stay again when we return to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear KGB69
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I’m delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Place January 4th-5th.. Upon arrival the receptionist was very friendly & because of a small mix up with booking we were upgraded to the suite room 3815 free of charge!! It was huge, 2large beautiful windows, 2double beds, walk in double shower & bath. The room was very modern & clean with large wardrobe, iron & iron board, complementary tea&coffee.
The hotel location was fantastic just along from Queens street, 5min walk from Waverly Trainstation & 5min from Harvey Nicks, princess st & George st.. The hotel made our stay even better, would definitely return!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Ellie1990,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I’m sorry there was a slight mix up with your booking, but glad we were able to sort it out and upgrade you to a suite – 3817 is one of my favourite rooms…one of the best views you will ever see from a bath! Delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked The Place for our Hogmanay visit to Edinburgh having previously stayed on The Royal Mile but decided to try The Place, 36 York Place, Edinburgh.
Hotel is easy to find despite previous reviews - number is on the front door after all.
We booked an executive room - 3415 - which was large, spacious, modern and clean with complementary tea and coffee and an iron and ironing board. Room was very warm but radiators are easily adjusted.
Didn't eat at the hotel as it was purely a base for the celebrations.
Staff were friendly and helpful and leaving our suitcase after checkout was a bonus.
Located just five mins from Princess Street we would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: 3415 was large, spacious and modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnshireFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear LinconshireFoodie,
Many thanks for your review. I’m delighted that you enjoyed Hogmanay at The Place. I hope that on your next visit you will have the opportunity to eat with us as we’d love to hear your feedback!
Hope to see you soon.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

A simple, friendly and clean hotel, not far from anything. Good price, would definitely stay there again.The breakfast was simple, but ok for a short stay. Nice staff, Suitable for business and couples if you want a reasonable hotel in the centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tondonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear tondonna,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I’m pleased everything was to your satisfaction and hope we can welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#46 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#130 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Parliament House Hotel
Parliament House Hotel
#76 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
#124 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place

Property: The Place
Address: 34 - 38 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the Playhouse Theatre and the city’s fashionable shopping district, The Place is perfect for a relaxing city break in Edinburgh, a romantic weekend or an escape from the stresses of corporate life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing