We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room, great dinner”
Review of The Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Place
Ranked #112 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Hotel location is great for walking around the city. Our room was comfortable but small (we knew this going in - not a surprise) and had a lovely view. The bathroom was clean and modern. Our prix fixe dinner in the hotel restaurant was tasty and very reasonably priced. Would recommend the hotel based on location.

Side note: The wifi was ridiculous - the login process was annoying and complex, and the signal was not very strong. We ran through the alloted access very quickly and had to get new login codes from the front desk. It's not the end of the world and it's not a big deal to all people, but we were really annoyed with this system.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Anna W,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review
I’m glad you enjoyed your meal and stay and hope to see you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel. I found all the staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The room was modern and very comfortable. I had a meal in the bar which was absolutely gorgeous and very good value for money. It was very convenient to the shops and Princess Street. The only downside is there isn't a lift so I wouldn't recommend it to people who are unable to go up plenty of stairs!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ikab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Ikab,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay and meal with us.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night in the most amazing suite. We have never seen such a huge bed!!! Gorgeous quiet room, everything perfect and every single member of staff could not do enough for us. We will definitely be back. Thankyou for making our stay to beautiful Edinburgh such a magical one!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Helen W,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review – I particularly like the title!!
Not much I can say, except thanks again and see you soon!
Regards,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is a good value hotel. Nice building, well located with good staff and public areas. Good rooms for the price. Recommended for a budget trip that does not feel too budget. Convenient for Princes Street, shopping, art galleries and public transport. Many good pubs and restaurants around.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reiver59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear reiver59,
Many thanks for your review.
I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be good value for money.
Hope to see you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at The Place and are looking forward to returning! The location is absolutely ideal, 5 minutes to the Playhouse and 2 minutes to the shops at the St James' Centre and Multrees Walk.

We were lucky enough to have a suite and wow, it was incredible! The room was huge and the bed was 8ft wide! Stunning views over Edinburgh, comfy lounge area and a great bathroom (although having no door was a bit odd :) )

We had a lovely dinner before going to The Lion King and the food was delicious. We also enjoyed some drinks in the bar, which was stylish and reasonably priced. Breakfast was just as good, with lots to choose from, I had pancakes with fruit and yoghurt and my boyfriend really enjoyed his full Scottish breakfast.

We found all the staff to be friendly and chatty, and very helpful. Thanks to the kind chap who braved the cold to show us to the car park and put our bags in the room.

The only small gripe is the layout meant some guests had to walk through the restaurant with luggage while we were eating, which is not ideal.

But overall we can't praise The Place highly enough and have told all our friends about it! See you again soon!

Room Tip: We had the suite in room 3605, check out the giant bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wheretonext_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear wheretonext_9,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your theatre break so much. Be sure to keep an eye on our packages for 2014, which you will find on our website.
See you soon!
Regards,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

beautiful hotel... very helpful and friendly staff. on arrival given a free upgrade which was lovely. room very clean and comfortable... rooms really nicely and simply decorated with style. bed comfy. phoned ahead to put a bottle wine in room and done with easy, much appreciated!

Thank Declan M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Declan M,
Thank you for your review.
I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay and delighted you were able to benefit from a free upgrade!
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We arrived very late at night after a long flight and we were greeted by the friendliest night porter ever (didn't catch his name), He checked us in, showed us to our room and pointed us in the direction of nearest takeaway. The room is nice and comfy. Only thing is maybe you should have a room book with stuff like checkout times and so on. On checking out we were able to leave our bags at reception and the receptionist was very friendly. This is the hotel we would choose should we need one in edinburgh again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mulberry1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M, Manager at The Place, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Mulberry1991,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
The Night Manager (Billy) says thanks for the nice comments and he sends his regards.
Delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Regards,
Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,293 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#58 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#130 of 151 in Edinburgh
25 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#33 of 151 in Edinburgh
385 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place

Address: 34-38 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3HU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $74 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the Playhouse Theatre and the city’s fashionable shopping district, The Place is perfect for a relaxing city break in Edinburgh, a romantic weekend or an escape from the stresses of corporate life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing