We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will no go back”
Review of Ryries Bar

Ryries Bar
Ranked #648 of 2,609 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $0 - $21
Cuisines: Scottish, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Ryrie's Bar - Haymarket. A traditional Scottish bar located in the busy hub of Haymarket Edinburgh. Established in 1868 Ryrie's is an authentic historic Scottish Pub. Serving Breakfast daily, Fresh Home cooked food, a range of over 50 Malt Whiskies, Scottish Speciality Spirits 6 Cask Ales and more!
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Booked a table for lunch before 1D Concert we ordered our food waited over an hour and a half eventually cancel order and got money back pub was not even busy .
Other family waited 45mins for drinks

We never even got an apology from the manager nor did the offer to give us our drinks for free

I know it was a busy day yesterday 3/6/14 but as I said pub was not busy

    • Service
1  Thank lejsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryries B, Manager at Ryries Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Hi lejsScotland thank you very much for your review, we are always pleased to hear from our customers! I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your time with us. It is very rare that a customer would wait for a substantial amount of time in our bar, all of our staff are trained to high standards in customer service and we pride ourselves in only offering the highest standards of service at all times especially when it comes to our food, on the day in question we were indeed very busy. We hope we will see you again and welcome any further feedback you have if you would like to get in touch via the bar website or phone.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 230 of 315 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

this is another pub i used to frequent but my first visit in years, just as i remembered, a blokes pub, busy noisy and very smelly down wind of the gents, yuk yuk

Thank BOBHAM5114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryries B, Manager at Ryries Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Hi Bob thank you very much for your review, we are always pleased to hear from our customers! I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your time with us. I can however assure you that we hold the hygeine needs of our bar and toilets included very highly.. We have cleaners every morning and regular toilet checks to ensure standards are maintained. Hope to see you again soon!

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Had the salmon, it was served with attention to detail and tasted fantastic. Table service, order taken quickly and efficiently, staff polite and attentive. Meal was delicious, Every where was clean, including the toilets, atmosphere was comfortable and welcoming would recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carlyb519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryries B, Manager at Ryries Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Hi Carly thank you very much for your review, we are always pleased to hear from our customers! I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Popped in for a swift pint whilst visiting the area. Nice pub. Good atmosphere and quick service. Can recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank donkeykonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryries B, Manager at Ryries Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Hi Donkey thank you very much for your review, we are always pleased to hear from our customers! I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Myself and friends went to Ryries for food and drinks for my cousins birthday night out. It was busy downstairs so we went upstairs to get a table for food. Members of staff looked after us all night, they were very attentive, good fun and had lots of banter with us. Nothing was a bother. Everywhere was clean, no sticky tables and toilets were spotless. Door staff were also great and had banter with us when we went out for a smoke. The food was great pub grub and was quick to arrive. Overall had a great time here and didn't intend on staying for so long but we didn't want to leave. Big thumbs up!!

Thank Kkgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryries B, Manager at Ryries Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Hi KKGC thank you very much for your review, we are always pleased to hear from our customers! I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ryries Bar also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Ryries Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing