We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mulroy - CLOSED

The Mulroy
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: West End
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

First visit - will definitely be back.
Food, service and ambience all excellent.
We went for lunch - the price was very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amtc63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    21
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fine food by a clever chef”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This restaurant doesn't look much from the outside - it's in a basement - but inside it's very pleasant and surprisingly bright. It's a quiet restaurant, well suited to a romantic meal for two. There's no air conditioning which I guess isn't normally a problem but, on one of the hottest days of the year, it was unfortunately stiflingly hot.

My partner and I both had the tasting menu which we found to be excellent and well thought out. We were especially impressed by the seemingly crazy combination of stone bass and roasted rhubarb which worked beautifully.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChorltonDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed a Saturday lunch at The Mulroy last weekend. The food, service and ambiance were the best I have experienced yet in Edinburgh and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

The setting is well laid out, comfortable, light. Really quite a plush interior.

The service was from the same waiter throughout who knew everything about the menu, the origin of the ingredients as well as the wine list. He was confident enough to recommend wine and got it spot on.

The food was 5-star at a 4-star price. As good as I have tasted at far more expensive restaurants in the city.

I will be going back; I'd highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
625 reviews
576 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 753 helpful votes
“Confirmed excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I went back for the full a la carte after having been impressed by the Petit Menu. The style of cuisine is not different. The dishes are sometimes glorified versions of the Petit dishes, using more than one cut, including the expensive bit... For example, the already excellent lamb shoulder featuring in the Petit menu is transformed into a truly glorious trio including shoulder, saddle and sweetbread, as well as the numerous minute and precisely executed garnishes that are a feature of the style of dishes here.
Beside the lamb, also a rabbit and a duck were remarkable.
This is accomplished cuisine using good produce, at very keen prices for the quality, in a pleasant and original environment, with great hospitality skills. Definitely one to come back to more than once.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thoughtfuldiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great way to celebrate.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our meal was delicious, the atmosphere was wonderful, and the staff knowledgable. Could not have had a more delightful anniversary.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 956Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mulroy also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing