We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you imagine a hotel in Scotland should be”
Review of B+B Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
B+B Edinburgh
Ranked #17 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2010

I travelled to Edinburgh with a group of my English students, all ladies over 60 and chose this hotel on reading the Tripadvisor reviews. I was not disappointed. Despite having to change our booking just before, Graeme and his staff were charming and helpful. Our stay was delightful though so of the ladies struggled with the plumbing a little but in general they all slept very well and appreciated the well-appointed bathrooms. This hotel is in a very exclusive part of Edinburgh and has fantastic views from the backfacing rooms. The library is straight from a stately home and in general the Scottish baronial style is very appealing. If you like Holyrood House you will like this hotel. Definitely would recommend it as it is easy walking distance to Princes Street and ideal for touring Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 727 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2010

Fantastic 'old-fashioned' hotel, and I mean that as a compliment. Wonderful interior with a great character. The staff were discreet and extremely friendly and helpful. The location is in a quiet area of wonderful granite buildings, but only a short walk to Princes Street or Haymarket and therefore a wide range of restaurants and bars. Couldn't recommend it enough for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrobborobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

We arrived at the hotel early and yet were allowed the keys and access to the room which was great, upgrated to a beautiful room with four poster bed and very spacious. Clean, everything you need for a comfortable two night break, we will definitely stay again at Melvin house. Only a five minute walk to Princess Street, in a quiet location in a very pleasant street

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

We have returned tonight from Edinburgh and the delightful Melvin House Hotel. Lovely room, lovely breakfast and very convenient location. The staff were also very obliging. We went for 3 nights with our friends and had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresa42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We spent three nights at the Melvin House on our way to the Highlands and returned for a fourth night on the way home. Can't say enough good things about the Melvin House and their helpful staff. Absolutely great breakfasts, spacious rooms (even in comparison to American hotels) clean, tastefully decorated rooms with comfortable beds, and we had great views of the Castle and the Firth of Fourth. The Library is amazing, the bar, lobby and dining rooms exude comfort and charm. Very convenient location close to Princes Street, Rose Street, the National Gallery, the Castle and Dean Village. We highly recommend this "best kept secret" in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biked_it_Liked_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

I have just read the reviews of the melvin house hotel, and i would recommend this hotel to anyone that likes the old style sottish hotel, suberb views, clean and goes back into history with its old style, no nonsense hotel. Quiet hotel, no noise and the staff are excellent, the rooms manager was very helpful. She made us so welcome as did all the other staff. In 3 words, old, supberb and clean!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eh7central
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

*Colin at Reception is just sooooo nice. thank you for being so good from the day I first rang you :D
*Room number 9 small but beautifully decorated, fantastic view on the castle, super comfortable bed, clean, flat screen tv, huge bath-tub and very clean bathroom. Super location in a very old and well kept building just 10 mins walk from the Castle, 3mins walk to Princes St., room was ready for us at 12.30!!!
*Restaurant beautiful with a super view on one of the many splendit buildings in Edinburgh (not sure what it was-didn't ask, but piece of art anyway :)) breakfast very good too
*no reception at night but you get acces with your key - very good thing!!! no problems here :D
WE LOVED IT!!!
THANK U

PS. They also have FREE INTERNET!!! and the library :D how cool!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAdvis0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,874 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,418 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,601 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#16 of 394 in Edinburgh
509 reviews
Dene Guest House
#22 of 394 in Edinburgh
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B+B Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B+B Edinburgh

Address: 3 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland (Formerly Melvin House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $82 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — B+B Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to change the way you think about bed & breakfast.B+B Edinburgh is a stunning boutique bed & breakfast situated in a historic listed building in the heart of Edinburgh. Sensitively refurbished to the highest quality in 2011, the property offers a stylish bar where guests can relax and enjoy a range of specially selected Scottish whiskies. The library offers a cosy retreat for guests wishing to enjoy a quiet moment after a hectic day of sight-seeing. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your B+B Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B+B Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing