We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of B+B Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
B+B Edinburgh
Ranked #16 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed for two nights with our adult children who shared a twin room in the basement. Lovely old place, very comfortable and charming. The free tea/coffee and biscuits in the library were a lovely touch and the downstairs bar was a hit. Only drawback was the very noisy trash trucks in the early morning. Good breakfast and my son was thrilled they served haggis. Would definitely recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda8285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled that the whole family have enjoyed their stay... we love haggis too and agree that no menu can call itself Scottish without it! We are really pleased you have enjoyed the history of the B+B - we are proud to bring it alive with all our guests! Spread the word back home and thank you very much indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    197
    35
    11
    7
See reviews for
143
339
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

stayed for couple of nights at B+B...location was excellent to city centre although room was not ready on arrival but we were able to leave our luggage and come back in an hour....were given room 27 which at first appeared to go down to the basement but wasnt and was very modern and clean...only fault was the window would not open which gave it a slightly claustorphobic feel...breakfast was plentiful with good choice from buffet and/or cooked...staff friendly and efficient...library/lounge was comfortable with free tea/coffee/biscuits..a very pleasant stay!

Room Tip: might want to check to see if window can be opened
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macmyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest - thank you for reviewing and apologies the room seemed a little claustrophobic with the windows closed . Please ask one of the Team members to help with this - we could have made your stay more comfortable. But we are pleased the rest of your stay was pleasant - we love the Library too and many of our guests compliment us about this space. Please do visit again or if you are travelling further afield - try B+B Weymouth and Belgravia, our sister properties. Thank you, once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Enjoyed a one night stay for a two day break in Edinburgh this April. Loved B+B. We arrived early thanks to a 6.30 flight from Dublin and they were more than happy to hold our bags and coats for the day allowing us to enjoy the city. We had a room on the top floor. Charming with a very comfortable double bed, lovely ensuite with a massive shower cubicle, tons of clothes storage space, lovely decor and a bonus view of the castle from our windows. Would very happily stay here again as it is 5 mins to the West End boutiques, bars and restaurants and 10 mins to the heart of the city on foot. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Staff were friendly and helpful at every turn. Only one note for those with children - the lift is old and very tiny so if you are planning on bringing a buggy/stroller you should be aware you will need to fold it to get to your floor by lift. Would not be enough to put me off but thought some would like to know.

Room Tip: Top floor room we were in had a lovely view over the city out to the Castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoisinMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and helpful advice to others. We will always help store buggies on lower floors to help with this. Or - let one of us take the strain and whizz the buggy upstairs...travelling with little ones is stressful enough ...let us take the strain! We are pleased you have enjoyed our location - try our sisters at Weymouth for lots more family fun - the beach has been awarded a European Blue Flag for cleanliness and is so family friendly. We look forward to welcoming you again - thanks once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

One of my team was getting married in Edinburgh and she chose to base herself and many of her friends at this boutique hotel. I was a little wary as I hadn't stayed in the city for years and the words "B&B" fill me with slight horror - way beyond those years of slumming it. HOWEVER, what a surprise, the moment you set foot inside the entrance of baroque splendour mixed with subtle but very chic modernism, it's all there and seriously cool. My room was bigger than those I spend many hours in for my business travel around the globe. The furnishings, quality of bed and bed linen plus the most important of all - the PILLOWS, were just perfect. I slept - not always a given in a strange bed and the very reason my business life is so tiring! Even having the right choice of teas and mugs, not silly little cups, in your room added to my pleasure. I hear you say - surely something wrong, but honestly, from the luxury of their Library with all day tea and coffee (free) to the small bar but complete with TV if you want to chat and view.....the only criticism from me is the bar should these days serve a G&T with fresh lime rather than lemon! They didn't have the former and also didn't have soda water - just fizzy water! not the same in a vodka! So, I leave the best until last. Their breakfast was the freshest and best I could compare with any 5 star hotel. In fact probably better - and all included in the price - Ritz - learn a lesson in how to find the best sausages and right bacon! So that's it - so few rooms, I almost hate to share this review but go for it if you are visiting Edinburgh or take it over for a family function. I will be returning - in fact taking my work team there pre-xmas for a bit of Scottish bar hopping!

Room Tip: Ask for the view - these rooms are at the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninacnunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review and taking time out of your busy life to post it! It has been an absolute treat to share our B+B with your wonderful friends and bring the place to life with celebration and good times. We are proud of what we do and thank you for your feedback! We would love to welcome the gang back in the very near future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed at B+B for a wedding and in Edinburgh and was really pleased with the hotel and the staff! The room was beautifully decorated and modern, and had amenities such as tea, coffee, shortbread etc in the room. It was within walking distance to various shops, restaurants and cafes which was great. Finally, we were really pleased with the cooked breakfast (along with pastries, fruit, cereal, baguette). Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely return in the future!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guests - thank you so much for reviewing B+B Edinburgh. We think the building lends itself to wonderful celebrations - the public areas are really sociable and the beautiful stair case is fab for photo opp's...! Thank you, once again - it means a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My boyfriend booked this wee gem through a Groupon deal for my birthday. Unfortunately when we booked we were told we would need to upgrade to a family room which meant our bargain night proved a bit more expensive than we had hoped.Situates close to Haymarket Station and only 10 minutes walk from the West end city attractions.The room was beautifully decorated, clean and had beautiful views.
The shower was one of the best I have used. The beautiful library and free coffee and biscuits to enjoy were a lovely touch.
The only downside was the heat, the room was too warm, and opening windows attracted flies. The bathroom was stifling hot and we were unable to turn down the radiator.
We will definitely be back later in the year. Lovely wee hidden gem!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lessells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hi Guests and thank you so much for reviewing B+B Edinburgh. We are thrilled you have enjoyed our facilities and location. We often run Special Offers throughout the year - if you join up to our Belong + Benefit loyalty club and we will keep you updated. Thansk again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

we recently stayed here for an overnight and found the building itself to be a true classic,beautifully ornate a step back in time yet the bedrooms are modern a clever mix! parking is limited on the street and the few spaces available for visitors are limited for 4hrs maximum monday through till saturday, the chap on reception was very helpful when we arrived in guiding us about the parking and places to eat and even the history of the building, excellent!
our room was very spacious and well equipped, however the hoover that lay at our bedroom door for the entirity of our stay was a trip hazard, unsightly and not expected in a 4 star establishment,it might also explain why our bedroom floor had not been hoovered(had the cleaner been interrupted and forgot to come back) the rest of our room was cleaned( though not to my own standards), it was very comfortable
but very hot and our window could not be opened.
Breakfast was lovely great choice well cooked but service was very slow.would still reccommend this hotel despite our criticism.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ray b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review and we are pleased that the over-riding feeling is a good one. We are curious ourselves as to why the hoover was left outside and will ensure that this does not happen again. It is for this reason that we really value feedback - it gives us chance to tighten up procedure and iron out any problems! Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,811 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,835 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
958 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,361 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B+B Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B+B Edinburgh

Property: B+B Edinburgh
Address: 3 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland (Formerly Melvin House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — B+B Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to change the way you think about bed & breakfast.B+B Edinburgh is a stunning boutique bed & breakfast situated in a historic listed building in the heart of Edinburgh. Sensitively refurbished to the highest quality in 2011, the property offers a stylish bar where guests can relax and enjoy a range of specially selected Scottish whiskies. The library offers a cosy retreat for guests wishing to enjoy a quiet moment after a hectic day of sight-seeing. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your B+B Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B+B Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing