We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Brazilian at Home in Edinburgh” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B+B Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B+B Edinburgh
Ranked #15 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Brazilian at Home in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I strongly recommend the B+B. I arrived early for check in and that was no problem. Was shown to 2 rooms with the option to choose the one I liked best. Tough choice, as both were great. Ensuites are very comfortable, modernly furnished, very clean and with a nice view. Great breakfast, both english and continental. Staff is very pleasant and helpful. At check out, kept my luggage so I could enjoy my last hours in Edinburgh strolling around this beautiful city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bia_Grimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi and thanks for taking the time to review. We agree that B+B Edinburgh is a super base to exploring the city and by far the best way is by foot. Glad we could be of help - it is our pleasure to make your travels even more wonderful! Consider visiting our sisters in Weymouth and Belgravia if you are travelling further around the UK - we look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    179
    31
    11
    6
See reviews for
119
320
22
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked the stay as part of an online offer.

As soon as wee arrived the staff where more than helpful and explained everything.

The rooms are absolutely stunning! Cannot fault them other than not being able to find a tag on the pillow so we could buy some for our home! They are the best pillows we have ever laid our heads on.
Towels changed each day, bathroom cleaned and beds re-maid.

Breakfast has plenty to offer and was stuffed on both morning.

Stunning little bar with laid back feel (I may have added some form of quiet music).

To be so close at such a reasonable cost even without the voucher this hotel is a brilliant little find! Book immediately!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelsKels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to review B+B Edinburgh - we are really pleased you have managed to soak up the lovely atmosphere. We aim to do the simple things well - a good bed and a great breakfast - perfect preparation for a days sight seeing! I will investigate the pillows and let you know. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

The hotel was well situated, 15 minutes walk to the centre of the city, but far enough out of the hustle and bustle in a quiet, elegant Victorian terrace. We were greeted very warmly and efficiently by the manager, and up in our room within 5 minutes. Our ensuite room was very spacious, spotlessly clean with a good view, the bed was very comfortable and a good size. Despite being next door to the lift I was struck by the lack of noise, and had a very comfortable night's sleep. What I really loved here was the architecture - the wonderful wide marble staircase and the carved panelling in the hallway and the breakfast room. Also the library was a joy and we had a drink downstairs in the bar before we went out for a meal, and could also have helped ourselves to coffee at any time. It felt very relaxed , with plenty of choices of rooms to sit in, not just our room. Although we were only there for a night we would have been happy to stay longer. Breakfast was very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The only slight downside was that we had to park about five minutes walk away and make a couple of journeys with our luggage, which was ok for us but might not suit an older person or someone with a mobility problem. We also had to feed the parking meter for a few hours until early evening. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We were at the front of the building which I suspect has the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Martindale Family - Thank you so much for taking the time to review. We are so pleased that B+B Edinburgh appealed to all the family - adults and teenagers alike! The city is jammed with amazing places to visit, sites to see and we are thrilled that you have found the perfect base from which to start your adventures! Please consider our Belong + Benefit scheme - this is how we communicate our Special Offers and you can earn rewards with each nights stay. As you are planning to stay again, this makes perfect sense! We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience, staff were welcoming and helpful. We would certainly stay again.

Breakfast was also very good, both continental and cooked to order.

The staff allowed us to store our bags before our check in time, which allowed is to head into the city bag-free!

Overall, very good.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennyhiscock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest - thank you so much for taking the time to review. We are really pleased you have enjoyed B+B Edinburgh and agree it is a super base to exploring the city. Whilst check-in/check-out times need to be in place to allow us to service rooms, your leisure time is so valuable. Storing your luggage is just a small way to help, you can make the most of your precious time and enjoy Edinburgh to the Max! look forward to seeing you again..or have you tried our sisters in Weymouth or Belgravia, London..?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just returned from B+B Edinburgh with my husband and 2 teenage children and will certainly return. Beautiful building with original period features and amazing library which has to be seen. The bedroom was large and very comfortable, en suite very modern and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was served in the dining room lots of choice. Paul in reception was very helpful even posting on to us a camera battery charger we had left behind.
We have visited Edinburgh many times and this is gem we will return.

Room Tip: Great views from front and rear of property. Front bedrooms looking over castle and rear bedrooms fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martindales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

My best friend and I stayed here for a night whilst in Edinburgh. The location is perfect and the B+B is beautiful. When we arrived the gentleman who greeted us (maybe manager?) was really rather rude! When we asked for any sort of information he was extremely pompous and not actually that helpful. The room was lovely, however it was in the basement and the lift was so loud during the morning. When we complained when checking out the manager didn't appologise and just dismissed our comment. It's a real shame as I would love to return here ... The breakfast staff were lovely and polite maybe he can take some pointers from them!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elin1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest - thank you so much for taking the time to review B+B Edinburgh - we really value the feedback. We are truly sorry that your experience at check-in did not meet expectations - we are extremely focused on Customer Service and value each and every guest that comes to stay. Currently we are receiving quotes to fix the problem with the lift and would like to assure that this situation has our 100% committment. We will ensure the Breakfast Team receive your feedback - thank you, once again. I would love to welcome you back to B+B Edinburgh to show you how we can WOW - please contact if you are ableto re-visit - we assure you of our very best attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

B+B is not really a B+B. It seems to be much more. From the moment we stepped through the doors we were impressed by the building and the accommodating nature of the staff. We arrived a little early but this was not a problem and we were able to check in earlier than we expected. We managed to get a fair deal on our stay and were more than impressed. We asked for a room on a higher floor to get a view of the city and we got it. This may have meant we got a smaller room but it was ample space for us. Both the room and bathroom were clean and well done. We did have a slight problem with the lock on our door initially but the staff were happy to help us out with this. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Haymarket and the centre of Edinburgh. The library was amazing and for much of the weekend we seemed to be the only ones to use it. B+B also had free wi-fi and tea and coffee here. All in all a lovely stay and without doubt somewhere we would stay again. Thank you B+B.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest - thank you so much for taking the time to review B+B Edinburgh. The Team are dedicated to providing excellent Customer Service and are really proud of our great buidling - it's proximity to our amazing city and all the wonderful sites and scenes. We are really pleased you manage to soak up the atmosphere of B+B Edinburgh - have you visited our sisters in London and Weymouth? - See you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#41 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,581 reviews
Kew House
#6 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B+B Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B+B Edinburgh

Property: B+B Edinburgh
Address: 3 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland (Formerly Melvin House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — B+B Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to change the way you think about bed & breakfast.B+B Edinburgh is a stunning boutique bed & breakfast situated in a historic listed building in the heart of Edinburgh. Sensitively refurbished to the highest quality in 2011, the property offers a stylish bar where guests can relax and enjoy a range of specially selected Scottish whiskies. The library offers a cosy retreat for guests wishing to enjoy a quiet moment after a hectic day of sight-seeing. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your B+B Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B+B Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing