We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Old Town's Hidden Gem!”
other travelers have booked this property
Greyfriars Bobby with the Apartment behind
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Greyfriars Bobby with the Apartment behind
lounge bedroom with king size bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
Greyfriars Bobby with the Apartment behind
lounge
bedroom with king size bed
kitchen
kitchen
bathroom, bath and walk in shower
View of the flat and Greyfriars Kirk
View from the lounge in the evening
View from the kitchen in the morning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
AmethystA...
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Old Town's Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We have just returned from a three day trip to our favourite city, and now our favourite accomodation - Greyfriars Bobby Apartment.

I should start by mentioning Axel, the owner. It is plain to see from the care and attention that he genuinely cares about this apartment. From the furnishings to the little unique touches, everything is carefully considered for visitors to Edinburgh. He is also a lovely chap, and spent a few minutes showing us around the flat and chatting. The informative folder he has put together is wonderful, and has everything from the boiler manual to "Axel's Favourites" - recommendations for good restaurants etc.

The apartment is much larger than the pictures suggest, which in Old Town is somewhat of a luxury! I can't begin to describe how incredible the views from each of the windows is - the ultra modern National Museum of Scotland, and in stark contrast the beautiful and spooky Greyfriars Kirkyard. The apartment is ideally located, and is a few minutes walk from several of the "must see" attractions whilst being tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the Royal Mile.

The bedroom is the perfect size, with ample storage space for clothes and a suitcase. The bed is just wonderful, and I found myself not wanting to get out of it most mornings! The lounge is a great space to relax, and Axel had provided a self-lighting log if we wanted to make use of the open fire. The kitchen is large and well equipped, and I spent each evening watching the sun set over the Kirkyard. You can also see the Castle from the window, which is beautifully lit up at night. Finally, the bathroom layout really makes the most of the space and isn't cramped like other apartments or hotels.

It was an absolute pleasure to stay in the apartment, and we would now never consider staying anywhere else in Edinburgh. It is well priced, in a great location and comfortable to boot. I can't recommend it highly enough!

Date of stay: November 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The brilliant views, ideal location.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_1ate
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We were in Edinburgh to get married and used this apartment as our base. It was absolutely gorgeous - beautiful views out from the kitchen window, well decorated, comfortable and with everything you could require. The location is excellent - handy for most of the main tourist attraction and in an area crammed with great restaurants, cafes and pubs. The apartment owner, Axel, was lovely and left us stocked with milk, tea, coffee, bread and jams for breakfast. He also left us a fire log allowing us to have a nice evening in in front of the open fire. This is the first place I'd try to book for our next trip to Edinburgh - think the positive reviews speak volumes. Other guest at our wedding had also booked apartments, but I much preferred Greyfriars Bobby! Loved it.

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great bathroom, gorgeous view from kitchen window - felt like a cosy wee hideaway!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annalise...
Pembroke, Malta
1 review
“If I could give 6 stars, I would!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

The apartment had everything we needed in terms of facilities and the location was truly excellent. The kitchen, which overlooks the Greyfriars kirk & yard is fully equipped (more than mine back home), the bathroom is modern and clean, and the living room overlooking the museum.Bus 41 took us exactly near the apartment so that was a plus especially when we had luggage to carry! A cosy, spacious and comfortable apartment which I would definitely revisit when I can :)

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tassiegol...
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Excellent Apartment in perfect location”
Reviewed October 23, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Lovely apartment, roomy, spotless, fully renovated and modern with everything you would need.
Close to transport and attractions (Greyfriars Bobby Church yard, Museum, Rioyal Mile, )restaurants etc
The owner, Axel, was extremely helful and attentive - as someone else described, he helped us find where to take our rental car, and walked us back pointing out attractions along the way.
Then we found Milk, Juice, cereal, bread all provided for us! That's certainly above and beyond expectation.
The bed was comfortable, the place was quiet at night. Excellent views from all windows. Good wifi ,
The apartment is on the 2nd floor - very secure, not too steep to carry bags.
We only stayed 3 nights - longer stayers could avail themselves of the dishwasher, washing machine, etc.
We used our Tom Tom to get there - but had to park and get out and walk to see exactly where to go - it was obvious when we found it - perhaps we should have checked it out on Google street view a bit more closely!
Highly recommended

Date of stay: September 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and location
Liked least: leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
algebraqu...
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This apt is truly wonderful!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

I spent 6 nights at the Greyfriars Bobby Apt in Edinburgh.
It was the perfect base for a visit to this fascinating city.

Not only was its central location ideal, but it has been very well renovated, thoughtfully mixing together past and modern touches throughout. It is a very clean, comfortable, spatious apartment for two people, with a bedroom, living room, bathroom and kitchen with a very convenient big round table! I must not forget to mention the much-appreciated washing machine and strong wifi signal!!

It was always a delight to walk into the kitchen and see the tranquil view of the grounds surrounding Greyfriars Kirk through its window!

Post office, grocery store, pubs, restaurants, ..., all are nearby.

I highly recommend this place despite the fact that the apt is on the 2nd floor and one needs to walk up two long flights of stairs to get to it.

Date of stay: September 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coziness of the apt.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiChris...
Kiwi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything was perfect”
Reviewed September 19, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We stayed at GreyFriars the first week of September. It was our first trip to Edinburgh - the location in Old Town exceeded our expectations and the flat was just perfect for self catering. Clean and well appointed with wifi, large fridge, dishwasher and washing machine. Bedroom had nice comfortable king bed - with memory foam mattress and lots of hanging and drawer space. Bathroom with shower and separate bath.

The front of the flat looks out over a bustling road and the back kitchen/dining window over the quiet church and graveyard. It's close to the University, across the road from the Museum of Scotland, and an easy walk to the Castle.
We are minimally fit 60 year olds, and we found the 2 flights of stairs easy to get up and down.
Thanks Axel you were such a great host.. Axel arranged to meet us at the flat to hand over the keys, and helped us up with our bags. Showed us where to find the good restaurants and pubs. Then drove with us to show us where to park for free - a 30min walk away, and walked back with us to make sure we didn't get lost. NOTE - long term parking in town is difficult to find and expensive.

Highlight - we had the priviledge of watching the fireworks over the Castle to mark the end of the festival from GreyFriars graveyard. A few people had the same idea so there was quite a party atmosphere amongst the tomb stones..

Date of stay: September 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staying in an amazing apartment in an amazing location.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eoghan M
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent self-catering in brilliant central Edinburgh location”
Reviewed August 20, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

If you're looking for somewhere within walking distance of all the tourist facilities in Edinburgh (Fringe venues, Museums, Art Galleries, St. Giles, Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Scottish Parliament to name but a few) then you couldn't beat this for location. The apartment itself is spotelss and kitted out to a very high standard with all amenities that you could possibly need. We stayed during a week of the Fringe in August and it was brilliant - we'll be back! The owner made us extremely welcome and, despite our 4 hour delay on arriving, made himself available - couldn't praise this place enough.

Date of stay: August 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location and first class amenities.
Liked least: The 4 hour flight delay from Birmingham!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing