We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, intimate and authentic japanese restaurant”
Review of Koyama

Koyama
Get food delivered
Ranked #579 of 2,579 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $60
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Koyama is one of Edinburgh's market leaders in Japanese cuisine. Being the one and only sushi restaurant in Edinburgh with all dinnerware imported directly from Japan, Koyama proudly presents you with the enlightenment for a taste of Japanese traditional dining etiquette.
Reviewed July 13, 2016

Authentic japanese restaurant in the old parts of Edinburgh. I tried the dumplings (which I still dream about - so good!!!) and sushi; very good.
The restaurant was quite busy when we were there, with only one waitress. That would be the one negative comment I've got, except even though she had tons of work to do she was still smiling and nice. Thumbs up for her!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LineS179
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 144 of 337 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2016

We went here two nights running. Fresh food and lovely Italian waitress. The food was great - we were planning meal 2 straight after meal 1. Would recommend for sure.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Operafan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

Definitely one of the best sushi places in town. Sushi is really fresh and in beautiful large pieces. Great sets on offer and good price. Can't wait to go again!

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank kika_auxtova
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

After searching on TripAdvisor for a local Japanese restaurant to our hotel we decided to come here. The reviews definitely backed up the quality and food at the restaurant. The staff are very helpful and polite, the food is nice and extremely quick from order to table. If you eat alot of Japanese food you may find that the food here isn't anything exceptional but is still very tasty and if in the area I'd recommend a visit.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank KevSuzuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile

Visited Koyama after recommendation from a friend who spoke highly of it. Usually Sushiya or Kan Pai hit the spot for excellent Japanese food in Edinburgh but this wonderful restaurant was beguiling, offering similarly high quality food in a warm, friendly, slightly less formal environment.

Superb service and a homely atmosphere topped off a wonderful meal. Everything from the thoughtfully provided gratis appetisers/miso soup and the homespun decor to the extensive menu (surprisingly keen prices for a city centre restaurant of this quality) really impressed. Plenty of options for all dietary needs and knowledgeable staff. We will definitely return!

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank dooberrywotsit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Koyama also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Koyama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.