We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful apartment in heart of Ediburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Wonderful apartment in heart of Ediburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

The apartment is truly wonderful as its within walking distance to the heart of Edinburgh. Added with the superb staff (esp. Harald), we enjoyed our one night and truly regret not staying longer. Would recommend this apartment to all visiting Edinburgh,

Its clean, spacious, comfortable and convenient - nothing else that a traveller could ask more !
Kids love it and pleaded to stay longer. When we visit Edinburgh next, we surely know where to stay.

Strongly, strongly recommend this place to all. Staying is believing.
- Rashid & family (Singapore)

Room Tip: clean and comfortable that commensurate with what you are paying for !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rashid_KSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    207
    49
    13
    7
See reviews for
253
209
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

For a 200 plus year old apartment practically next door to edinburgh castle it was very clean and comfortable. I began to feel sorry for all the other tourist who had to hike up the royal mile every day.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Fabulous location basically on the Royal Mile about 100 yards from Edinburgh Castle. 3 bedroom 2 bath apt with a kitchen was wonderful. We were a short walk from the bars and restaurants at Grassmarket and being on the Royal Mile was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimellen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the apartments for my hen weekend. The staff were all excellent, very friendly and welcoming! The apartments are really big, plenty of space for us all to have a great time in! The location is ideal and views of the royal mile were lovely! Would def recommend this company to other people! First class!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trace155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed in a two-bedroom one bath apartment on High Street, just a couple blocks walk to the Edinburgh Castle end of the Royal Mile. Because the apartment was so well-located, we could sight-see, take a rest, then go out again. Had we stayed further away, we would not have been able to see and do so much. Almost all of the hotels that are close to the Royal Mile would have meant a steep hill climb to get to the Royal Mile, but we were right there! Apartment had coffee, tea, dishes, even a dishwasher and clothes washer! It's only disadvantage is all the steps - no elevator. it was clean, and very nice. We're really happy with out experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KYTravelers2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

My family and I just got back from our vacation and everyone loved the experience we had staying at the apartments on The Royal Mile with Stay Edinburgh City apartments. We stayed at 219 High Street in a two bedroom, one bath apartment. They have about 30 different apartments that they manage, but the attention and care that Harvey and his team give you is impeccable.

You are just down the street from the Edinburgh Castle and many other sites, shops, restaurants, and the train station. There are also always cabs stationed down the street that you can catch any time day or night. You can see the ocean at the other end of the street (about 2 miles away) that has a great beach you can stroll down and pick up shells.

The staff worked with us to get lower level apartments after originally booking one that was on a higher floor do to there not being a lift and some of our family members having difficulty with stairs. They also allowed us to print out our boarding passes for our flight in their office downstairs.

Our family across that stayed in another apartment with them also said that they could hear a lot of street noise throughout the night. Our apartment was away from the street a bit and had windows to a courtyard, so it was much quieter. Overall a great stay with very accommodating staff. The only reason I won't give it 5 stars is that the WiFi had a very weak signal, which made it difficult to get online.

Room Tip: If looking for a good view request a high level apartment, but be prepared for stairs. If looking fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charity B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yekaterinburg, Russia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Huge thanks to the staff and management for having amenities like tea, milk and sweets in the room (we arrived near 22:00), so, almost everything was closed. We were given apartments at 3/3 James Court - 200 m to Edinbourgh Castle and St. Giles, Sainsbury local shop is 350 m away, apartments are big enough and have everything you need including washing machine and broadband free WiFi. There are three different heaters inside so you can adjust temperature from arctic cold to Sahara heat.
We liked everything here, I just want to warn those arriving late - you need to follow instructions sent by e-mail rather strictly because there is no staff, only written instructions and letter in the box. Yet, if you are attentive, you will be awarded with extraordinary cozy apartments!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexMyrddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile

Property: Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Address: Central Reception 217 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 15 serviced apartments ranging from 1 to 4 bedrooms. All of the apartments are fully furnished and equipped with High Definition flat screen TV, DVD player, High Speed WIFI internet facility, fully equipped kitchen and modern bathroom. Located on the world famous Royal Mile, we offers you the heart of Edinburgh on your doorstep. Don’t ever worry about public transport. Staying with us you will have easy walking access to all of major Edinburgh attractions. We have one of the widest selections of apartments on The Royal Mile and we SPECIALISE in providing accommodation to SMALL AND LARGE GROUPS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing