We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Extremely excellent service, right in the middle of the city centre so about 5 mins walk away from everywhere, nice place with everything you would need on a city break. I would buy the apartment we stayed in if I could. Definitely going back there next time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodiehannahsullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

583 - 589 of 766 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Excellent communication prior to arrival via email. Clear directions and very prompt at answering any queries. On arrival very helpful, happy, chatty staff. Room was ready straight away so we could check in immediately (bonus). Apartment was very clean and very well appointed. Plenty of tea and coffee, towels etc. Comp bottle of wine (lovely touch thanks).
No issues at all so did not need to bother the staff at all for the duration of our stay.
Seamless check out and option to leave bags in the office til our train in the afternoon. Again friendly polite staff. Would definately stay here again and recommend it.
Location could not have been better.

Thanks to you all, we had a fantastic few days.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in December, having taken advantage of the company's deal of 3 nights for the price of two. This deal, I think runs until March but the website would confirm this.

The check in office is on the lower level of a shop in Royal Mile, literally only 5 minutes walk from Waverley station. The staff were very helpful, offered to carry our bags, and took us across the Royal Mile on a two minute walk to our apartment on Blair Street.

We had requested a one bedroom apartment but there was a two bedroom apartment available and so we were given this one, which was fine to have a little extra space.

I have read other reviews that say the communal areas of the building are a little shabby, and whilst I wouldn't disagree with this, the company don't own the entire building so this is outwith their control.

In saying that, the apartment itself was lovely. It had a large living area, with a dining table and chairs, tv, DVD player, leather sofas and a selection of information about the area. There was a fully equipped kitchen so if you do want to cook your own meals here, it has everything you need. The two bedrooms were large with plenty of cupboard space and the spacious bathroom had a huge shower area.

Yes it can be a little noisy at night, but this is a city location and it certainly wasn't enough to disturb us. I would gladly "put up" with a little noise for such a convenient location. In fact, the location couldn't have been any better for us as we spent the majority of our time in the Old Town. So many attractions were within quick walking distance that I really couldn't fault the location at all.

Upon checking out, we were able to leave our luggage back at the office until it was time to catch our train. This was very helpful and again the staff were very courteous and friendly.

We would certainly stay again and have recommended the apartments to our family and friends. It represents excellent value for money, allows more space and freedom than a hotel room, and offers an unbeatable location.

Highly recommended!

We couldn't fault the a

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daleykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a nice apartment in the Royal Mile very close to the castle. It is about 150 meters or so from their office in the Crest of Edinburgh shop. We arrived little after 7 (their office hours), but that was no problem. There was a lady waiting for us to walk us to the apartment. It was a tough job bringing up the family suitcases, one of them heavy, up the spiral stone stairway to the 3rd floor, but it was managed to catch up with our guide.
The apartment has a spacious living dining kitchen room, and 2 smallish bedrooms, clean, good amenities. We had an issue of the heater in the hallway, and towel heater in the bathroom not working, so bathroom was really cold at night. We managed to keep doors open to spread the warmth as evenly as possible.
Location could not be better for us. The historical buildings and street are a big hit. 2 tour bus companies had their stops just at the entrance. the route of Hogmanay torch lightiing festival was close, abundance of shops and minimarkets around
On the whole, this is a nice maintained apartment, in the heart of the wonderful old city

Room Tip: ask for a lower floor if you have heavy luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyecairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed there for only one night. From the beginning the staff were very friendly. The flat is very spacious and clean. Perfect location, in the heart of the old town, close to restaurants and the castle, easy to find and easy to walk to places. The thing that I didn't like, is that the rooms are noisy, our flat was on the 3rd floor but I could hear all the street noise,and people talking. Also the floor makes noise when you walk, maybe that's normal in Europe. Also the stairs are very steep.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We booked a two bed apartment for 6 people and it was perfect as we weren't spending much time there over new years. Our bedrooms were quiet tight and there wasn't a lot of space in the them but for us the main thing was cleanliness, towels and hair dryers were provided. As it was over new years we were out but the apartment would be too small if we were all there all day. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely use them again, we were also happy with the value.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tazzgalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Hotel was very good in both term of location and value of money. All feature of the hotel made me feel like home and need to come back in every evening.Stass was very friendly and gave us the useful information. If I have a chance to come to Edinburgh again. I will back to this hotel. I could not express all of my impress about this hotel. Only one word... Supeb!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay2127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,047 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,720 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Broughton & Calton
Princes Street Suites
Princes Street Suites
#5 of 218 in Edinburgh
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile

Address: Central Reception 217 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $84 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 15 serviced apartments ranging from 1 to 4 bedrooms. All of the apartments are fully furnished and equipped with High Definition flat screen TV, DVD player, High Speed WIFI internet facility, fully equipped kitchen and modern bathroom. Located on the world famous Royal Mile, we offers you the heart of Edinburgh on your doorstep. Don’t ever worry about public transport. Staying with us you will have easy walking access to all of major Edinburgh attractions. We have one of the widest selections of apartments on The Royal Mile and we SPECIALISE in providing accommodation to SMALL AND LARGE GROUPS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing