We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Accomodiation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2012

An absolutely terrific company to deal with, couldn't have been more helpful or nicer, even after we locked ourselves out of one of the apartments!!!! Best location, right in the middle of edinburgh, just off royal mile, so the high heels didn't have to be walked in too far! Apartments are really lovely and finished beautifully and the complimentery welcome basket a really nice touch. Was nervous about booking ths instead of a hotel, haven't done it before but delighted I did it and would definitely do this again for group trips!!! Excellent

Room Tip: Stayed during the fringe festival so was a bit noisy outside at night but didn't bother us at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelos23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

616 - 622 of 766 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

What a difference a day makes! I was ready to come home and offer the greatest of reviews for this place: great locale, great amenities, kind and helpful staff ... and then things took a turn for the worse.

Travellers should be aware that you will be placed in an apartment building where the apartments can be owned and occupied by people not affliated with this company. Stay Edinburgh has a very strict noise policy listed in the contract they impose on you. It's highly unfortunate they cannot guarantee their own travellers peace and quiet/a proper night's sleep. I had someone move in above me just at the start of my second week of my stay and it was hell on wheels after that: people stumbling in (literally, methinks) at 11PM to keep banging about, even doing laundry (?!) until 3AM. Three days of that and I was walking Edinburgh like one of your post-apocalyptic zombies; six days of that I was ready to move into the airport. I expressed my concerns to Stay Edinburgh. They claim they tried to solve the problem, but to no avail. Yes, they can claim there is only so much they can do, but this is where I say be(a)ware: a b&b or hotel can be complained to immediately, as the noise starts, and they are usually very good to go investigate and solve the issue. Stay Edinburgh makes you pay upfront, in advance, so they have your cash while you are a captive audience (should that be "sitting duck"?). What recourse do you have? So, again, those looking to sleep even a tad in this city should be at least aware of the facts. I have never had a trip where I would actually count the days off until my return on a sheet of paper (for pity's sake-what daft sort of trip did I get myself into?!) or one where I brought back money to the homeland (well, better for my country's economy). I consider this an unpleasant experience that came with "lesson learnt" experience, at a high financial and personal comfort cost.

Room Tip: Ask them to put you at the top of the building?! At least then you may not be listening to stomping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank herzeloyde g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Thought we would try the apartment option this trip since we were traveling with another couple and decent hotels were expensive. What a great decision. We stayed a 3 bedroom apartment for 4 nights. The apartment is right on the Royal Mile and is very close to the Edinburgh castle so we could easily walk to all the sights. It was very clean and seemed to have been remodeled recently. It was fairly spacious and very comfortable. A few things to be aware of: No elevator in the building so better to be on a lower floor. If it's hot (which it wasn't when we were there) when you open the window it is a bit noisy since it is on the Royal Mile.
Highly recommended for staying in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: It is in a building with no elevator so request an apartment on the first floor if you have a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loveagreatvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Other than the walk up three flight of stairs, we found this apartment to be a fine place to stay while in Edinburgh. Our Apartment overlook the Royal Mile. It was equipped with a small fridge, cooktop and even a washing machine for your cloths. It had everything - except an elevator. The arrangement is a bit strange - you register in the basement of a souvenir shop and walk up the Royal Mile to your apartment.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank les p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was by far the sweetest deal in all of our UK trip. A HUGE apartment all to ourselves. Impeccably clean, full kitchen, laundry machine in the apartment, and two big bedrooms as well as a full size fold out couch. Modern and smart decor...close to Edinburg Castle. We were given a voucher for breakfast. A short jaunt around the block for fresh pastry and coffee.

We arrived after dark so this wasnt easy for us to find, but the staff was very helpful and stayed on the phone to guide us in :) I appreciated the space and cleanliness and insane value...a few nights before, while in London, we paid more than double for an extremely dirty one room broken door very scary kinda place, lol. Bravo Scotland and bravo SECA!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle_Haley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Brilliant apartment on The Royal Mile very close to the castle. Apartment nr. 8 was spacious with two separate bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen/livingroom with great views. Receptioniste was very helpfull and friendly. We would stay here again defenitely when we'll visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandertjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

I booked a one bed room apartment but was given a 2 bed apartment so was really big! Was great to stay in a modern apartment in such an old building! It felt like you were entering a castle up a spiral staircase! However, that was the hard part! Many flights of stairs with luggage! The apartment was clean and had all that was needed. Was nice to have a real hairdryer too. The only gripe was a slightly odd smell, almost like dampness, but didn't distract too much, just didn't quite feel 5 star.
It was great to have loads of info on local sites and restaurants, something that often lacks in many hotels let alone an apartment! The location was great, right on the royal mile, and close to some good eateries. Dined at Howies and the Whiski rooms, both very good and within walking distance. Had breakfast in room so no suggestions for breakfast dining. Overall it was a pleasant stay, just not quite a full 5 stars, but still satisfied.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwigirl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,047 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,720 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Broughton & Calton
Princes Street Suites
Princes Street Suites
#5 of 218 in Edinburgh
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile

Address: Central Reception 217 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $84 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 15 serviced apartments ranging from 1 to 4 bedrooms. All of the apartments are fully furnished and equipped with High Definition flat screen TV, DVD player, High Speed WIFI internet facility, fully equipped kitchen and modern bathroom. Located on the world famous Royal Mile, we offers you the heart of Edinburgh on your doorstep. Don’t ever worry about public transport. Staying with us you will have easy walking access to all of major Edinburgh attractions. We have one of the widest selections of apartments on The Royal Mile and we SPECIALISE in providing accommodation to SMALL AND LARGE GROUPS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing