We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Edinburgh Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We visited Edinburgh last weekend and stayed three nights in one of Stay Edinburgh's 1 bedroom apartments. The first thing to note was the location. The check in office at Crest of Edinburgh was only a few minutes walk from the main Waverley train station, on the Royal Mile. From there, it was again just a couple of minutes walk to the apartment in James Court. Check in was quick and easy and our bags were even carried to the apartment!

The apartment itself was excellent - very clean, nicely decorated with everything we could need on hand. It was heated by electric heaters and was always warm and cosy. Access was up three flights of spiral stairs which wasn't an issue for us, but it might be worth checking with them first if this could be an issue. The location on the Royal Mile is great for sight seeing - were we just 2 minutes from the castle.

The staff were also very friendly and helpful - they allowed us to leave our bags at the office on checkout day so we could enjoy another full day around Edinburgh.

Overall, we would highly recommend Stay Edinburgh. We really want to return to Edinburgh one day and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (757)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 636 of 757 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2012

We visited edinburgh for a short trip with friends and stayed in the spacious and really well equipped 4bedroom apartment. It was clean and tastefully decorated with lots of extras like spare pillows and blankets ( although we didnt need them because the apartment was very warm and cosy. Location could not have been better, a few minutes from the Castle on the Royal Mile near some lovely bars and restaurants, and just a short walk to the main shopping area. The convenience store below the apartment had all the basics -bread and milk etc. it was great value for money and we would stay again. Only slight downside it that it would not unit anyone with mobility issues or a buggy as it is up 3 flights of spiral stairs. Didn't bother us but might have if the children had been smaller.

Staff were lovely, reception was easy to find and all admin was dealt with extremely efficiently. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twoplusthree7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

we stayed at these apartments last week for 4 days and we were delighted with the accommodation. the check in is at the Crest of Edinburgh shop on High street and then we were quickly walked to the apartments which was just up the street. The apartment was very clean, modern and had everthing you could need incl all toiletries, milk, tea/coffee and we also got some shortbread biscuits! the location is great, right off the Royle Mile and beside the Castle. Even though its such a central location, it is sooo quiet and peaceful. We stayed in apartment 5 which was 3 floors up but please note that there is no elevator and the stairs are quite steep. we will def be staying here again the next time we go to Edinburgh which i hope is soon as it is a great city to visit!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mazler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Location is just perfect in the center of Edinburgh. Can not be better....
Apartements are clean. Bathroom is clean and the shower works really well. The living room has a washing machine, a big TV and a lot of space. Towel with shampoo, what do you want more ?

And the reception at Crest of Edinburgh ist really nice. People are helpful and always ready to help.... and that has no price !

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eddy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I absolutely loved this one bedroom apartment. The bedroom itself was small, but otherwise the apartment was spacious. There was a microwave, oven, stove top, sink and small refrigerator. The closest grocery store was a little far, but I don't mind walking. The Wi-Fi worked well in the apartment. It was very quiet. There was no elevator, so I had to walk up and down three flights of stairs everyday, which was fine with me. The attendant came to clean the apartment every couple of days. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The location, being right on the Royal Mile, can't be beat! All of the tours that I took started only a few steps away.

Room Tip: If you can't walk up and down stairs, you might wish to mention that up front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank calamaestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Due work and friends I visit Edinburg very often and every time they make me feel like home.
The apartment is very well located for tourism and transport. Is extremely clean and full of comfort ditails, like laundry soap, extra blankets and sheets or potato peeler.
But the best is the staff, they are very considerate, keeper, they took a lot of careful every time I need help, and they are very flexible with last minute changes.
I definitely recommend it. Good luck, see you next time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lupe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed here with a group of friends for a weekend. We had a great time and we thought that the apartment was fabulous with great facilities and an excellent location. Would definitely stay again if visiting Edinburgh. The staff were very friendly and check in/out was easy.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s_pruced123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#57 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,701 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#49 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,585 reviews
West End
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile

Address: Central Reception 217 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $74 - $613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 15 serviced apartments ranging from 1 to 4 bedrooms. All of the apartments are fully furnished and equipped with High Definition flat screen TV, DVD player, High Speed WIFI internet facility, fully equipped kitchen and modern bathroom. Located on the world famous Royal Mile, we offers you the heart of Edinburgh on your doorstep. Don’t ever worry about public transport. Staying with us you will have easy walking access to all of major Edinburgh attractions. We have one of the widest selections of apartments on The Royal Mile and we SPECIALISE in providing accommodation to SMALL AND LARGE GROUPS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing