We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Residence Inn in Europe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
Ranked #37 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed here while visiting Edinburgh in March. Very new hotel from inside out. I was very satisfied with the room. It was clean, new, spacious, and nicely furbished. The staff was beyond excellent. One of the ladies at the front desk could speak Mandarin Chinese and she helped me tremendously with navigating the city and recommended me several very authentic Asian restaurants in the area. The breakfast was extremely generous and the food was very delicious. Only downside was the location, the street it was located on was quite confusing to find, even for the taxi driver. The rate is a little expensive, but definitely worth the price tag!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fzwa1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 584 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great location with walking distance to the best of Edinburgh. Rooms are large, the hotel is well maintained and the staff is excellent. However, there is no air conditioning in the hotel making the rooms incredibly stuffy. Additionally, the bathrooms are very small.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank NP27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The Residence Inn Edinburgh is a complicated hotel to evaluate. The staff is very friendly. The hotel is clean and modern. But, there are design aspects that make things more complicated, several of which relate to the impact of environmental decisions in designing the hotel on guests.
The lighting in rooms is LED and it is not often not well located. The lighting over the sink is bright and immediate. The lighting over the toilet is dim and never really becomes quite bright enough. There is one light over the desk and it is insufficient to work extensively at the desk. The appliances in the kitchen area are all one might need for a stay.
However, probably the biggest issue is the lack of air conditioning. Air conditioning in Edinburgh is usually unnecessary. This August was warm enough to make the guest rooms quite warm and the combination of the fan and one opening window were not enough to make the room consistently comfortable. I guess I wish that the lack of air conditioning had been more prominently advertised on the hotel website.
Unrelated to the environmental consciousness of the hotel design, the drawer storage (2 drawers in a bed end table) is insufficient for an extended stay.
The food in the buffet is plentiful and tasty and the drinks and food outside of the breakfast period were reasonably priced and delicious.
The hotel's location is especially convenient for visits to the University of Edinburgh and the nearby Meadows Park provides plenty of greenery for running and other activities. For those visiting Edinburgh during Festival-time, the hotel is very close to venues including Underbelly, Gilded Balloon, Pleasance, Kings Hall, Summerhall, and other venues in the area.
So, I recommend the hotel and appreciate its commitment to environmental concerns. I just wish that my role in that effort had been more informed and consensual.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David1946109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

I stayed here with my family in June and was very happy with the room and the service. We arrived very early and they took our bags for us until our room was ready. The room was really nice and clean. There was no air conditioning in the rooms and that was a surprise but fortunately it wasn't an issue the windows open up to get a good breeze and kept the room cool. The shower was great with lots of room and large shower head. The room itself was larger than I had expected and the kitchen area was nice. The breakfast is Awesome!! A wonderful selection and the food was good. I was really happy about the location. It was short walk to the Royal Mile and other sites. I was happy we stayed here and could see staying here if I get the opportunity to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is a very solid hotel. The complimentary breakfast is great, and has a wide variety of hot and cold food options. Nice, modern, fairly spacious rooms. No A/C in rooms (but there is A/C in lobby), which was fine even on hot summer days because you could open the windows to get fresh, cool Scottish nighttime air. Hotel corridors got quite hot/stuffy, though. Location is pretty good, in a quiet modern district near the center of the city (quietness allows for windows to be open, which is a plus in the summer) that is nonetheless within walking distance of all the old city areas.

Five star for its price range/class; four stars in the absolute sense.

Room Tip: Don't get too high a floor in the summer as I imagine it could get quite hot with no AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rudeboy454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We arrived early and asked to leave our bags here but there was a room available so we were able to check in.
The room was large with a small kitchen. Very clean and would be perfect for a longer stay (we only stayed 1 night)
We were on the 6th floor and on a summer day the room was very warm...the corridors hot and stuffy but fans were placed to try and cool it down.
We had to sleep with the windows open, due to heat. We didn't experience noise from the building site as mentioned previously but it was a weekend stay.
Breakfast was nice, with a good selection.
I'd maybe stay here again if I returned with family or for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traceyfoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed at this hotel at the start of march as part of a hen party for 2 nights. I have to say the standard of both the accommodation and service was faultless and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel. The staff really couldn't do enough for their guests. We were part of a group of 12 and by the end of the weekend every staff member knew each of us by name. It really felt like a home away from home. The professionalism of the staff here was second to none. Thank you so much for everything!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Hollie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#60 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,633 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,336 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh

Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $99 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh offers short and long-stay accommodations in Edinburgh, Scotland. At our hotel, set a pace that suits you, whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development, you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn By Marriott Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing