We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location Comfortable Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #35 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Location Comfortable Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

I arrived early in the morning after my international flight and I had a short wait while they got my feather free room available. They graciously invited me to join in the breakfast, and although the breakfast area is crowded I did not see anyone go without seating. We were there in July during the University's graduation and they handled the crowds very well.
The food was fairly standard RI food but was prepared extremely well and I loved the addition of the Scottish scones.
I have severe allergies and had no issue in these rooms with hardwood and tile floors. I loved the large windows that opened and kept the room well cooled. You could see right across into the apartments -- but very few people were at home.
I was also concerned about the distance to the sights but it was all very walkable and nice to have the National Museum of Scotland so close. All the walking was through what I considered "nice" areas. After long days of walking and sightseeing it was very nice to come back to the very comfortable RI.
Every single staff member was terrific, willing to help, had great suggestions and terrific attitudes.

Room Tip: We wete on the 2nd lloor and had no issue with the room cooling without ac.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    345
    91
    19
    8
See reviews for
193
507
36
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bochum, Germany
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Have stayed 3 nights in the Residence Inn in Juni 2014 in an 1 Bedroom Suite. The rooms are modern and nice, with a small kitchen in the living room. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Car parking is around the corner for an acceptable price per night. Breakfast was good but more in an american way than Scotish. The hotel is located at the new developt Quatermile, near to the Royal Mile of Edinburgh, reachable by foot in 10 minutes.
A recommendable hotel and a good choice for staying in Scotland capital city.
Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
700 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had a very large one bedroom suite with 2 TV's (important conflict avoider). Rooms are huge,
very clean, comfy bed. Rooms are a little spartan, no dining table or cooktop stove like in all
other RI's. Don't understand some previous comments on the windows. We were on 5th floor & the windows opened wide and kept the room cool at night. Location is excellent,
10-15 minutes walk to everything, and 1 minute from a huge beautiful park. Breakfast was
adequate, although could use some more variety. The staff is first rate, especially Paul at the front desk. Found the bathroom design a little weird. Don't know what the architect was thinking.
Same can be said for the very small breakfast area downstairs., which needs a redesign. A good Sainsbury supermarket is one minute away.In any case, this RI is a great place to stay in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: High floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We just returned from Edinburgh after spending a week at the Residence Inn. The hotel is located in a newly built complex in the Quartermile area tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the city . The hotel is within walking distance of the castle, the Royal Mile, and close to the Museum of Scotland. Waverly station is about a 15 minute walk. We were very pleased with our accommodations and found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We appreciated that we were able to check in early after our overnight flight. he free breakfast was very good with such choices as fruit, yogurt, cereal, bacon, eggs, sausage, luncheon meats, cheese, and mini-pastries. There is also a free Laundromat with soap provided. The suites were very modern and nicely designed. The only complaint I had was the close proximity to the neighbors in the building across the way. We had our blinds drawn most of the time. Also the sink area was located outside of the bathroom and had very little counter space for your bathroom supplies. I would definitely recommend the Residence Inn for visitors to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton IL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed 6 nights at Residence Inn. Every member of the staff was friendly and caring. The servers at breakfast made an extra effort to ask us about our stay and give us suggestions of places to go and things to do. Very sweet. Our suite was perfectly comfortable. The location was also very nice. An easy walk to the city center, castle, Royal Mile, restaurants, even the train station. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel is quite nice, located quite close to the tourist destinations, plus it's new and modern. However, there were several issues with the hotel. First of all, there is no air conditioning (at least I could not fine one in my room). As the rooms have huge glass windows, which are not opening, it's very hot inside, because of the sun, which heats the room easily. Second, wifi in the hotel is not working properly and the speed is very low. Room service is OK. Yet another point, it would be good to diversify a bit the breakfast menu. I stayed there for almost a week and the breakfast was the same everyday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinoG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin R, General Manager at Residence Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Residence Inn Edinburgh.

The Residence Inn brand offers a complimentary breakfast and we try to offer subtle variations for the guests staying that little bit longer, but we will take on board your comments & look to see where else we can add some greater variation.

As a Marriott standard we also offer free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel & are always looking to improve this service. We hope to increase our bandwidth late July 2014 to improve this service for all our guests. I am sorry we did not meet all the standards you expected on this occasion.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced.
We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction and are continually look for ways to improve the home from home feeling for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was a nice hotel except for one major flaw. They had no air conditioning and we were told they had no plans to put it in bc the need for it is only a couple months out of the year. Caution: even though it may be nice outside-the inside is very hot because only 1st & 2nd floor windows are able to open enough to let any air through. (for safety reasons) The rest of the rooms were unbearable. We spent our first night with no sleep until they could move us to a lower floor the next night. Then it was more comfortable but the noise level was higher. At least we slept. Just avoid this during the Summer months and caution when the temps are beginning to rise as they will be much higher in the building.

Room Tip: Lowest floor in corner if you must...that way you will get 2 windows-one in bathroom with a cross se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Movacash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin R, General Manager at Residence Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Residence Inn Edinburgh.

I am sorry we did not meet the standards you expected on this occasion. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced through the particularly warm period.

We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction and are constantly looking for ways to improve. We will address the issue regarding the heat that you raised to ensure other guests benefit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Edinburgh

Property: Residence Inn Edinburgh
Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're delighted to bring you the UK's first Residence Inn by Marriott offering you short and long stay Edinburgh accommodation. Set a pace that suits you at Residence Inn by Marriott. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing