We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$204
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$161
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$227
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$328
$211
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$187
$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$126
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$251
$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$146
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,161)
Filter reviews
1,161 results
Traveler rating
627
392
106
26
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
627
392
106
26
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquartermile arearoyal milea small kitchen areawashers and dryerssimpson loanthe breakfast areaone bedroom suitesliding doorcorner roomcomplimentary breakfastnational museum of scotlandmodern hotelbuilding workminute walkno air conditioningrooms are largequiet area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
679 - 684 of 1,161 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We have just returned from a weekend break with friends in Edinburgh. The hotel staff were very helpful and couldnt do enough for you. It was our first time visiting Edinburgh and we would definitely stay in the Residence Inn again. There was a wide selection of options for breakfast and all specific dietary requirements were met.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Very quiet and functional, great location, amenable and welcoming staff, new and clean, and good value for money. The standard of the hotel matches the standard of the Foster + Partners development that it forms part of. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I generally left this hotel with good impression. Very American styled hotel, offering the must stuff but doesn't add nor offer more than that. Very spacious. Comfy bed and nice clean kitchen, but toilet/shower was rather disappointing. Breakfast was okay but not excellent. Location was a bit of a bummer though. One bad thing is that I stayed in 1st floor and could smell the breakfast cooking in the kitchen (on the ground floor), which woke me up.

Room Tip: Nothing wrong about hotel. If you look for the value and quiet hotel, this is the right one.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin R, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments and sharing your experience.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the unintentional 'wake up call'. We take great pride in ensuring all our guest’s have an opportunity to enjoy our capital city and take your comments constructively. Our goal is to address your concerns, where able, so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a weekend on 28th February 2014 travelling as a couple. We chose the Residence Inn for its location, value for money and the good reviews it had received on Trip Advisor.

The hotel is located in the Quartermile area of Edinburgh which is an area that is currently being re-developed. It is right beside the university so there are a lot of students about. There is a large park around the corner along with a Starbucks, Sainsburys and a few restaurants. We liked the location because it is within walking distance to the Castle, the Royal Mile, shops, restaurants and pubs and clubs, however, as it is in a residential area it is very quiet and we also felt very safe at night. There are a few good restaurants and pubs nearby. We liked Vittoria on the Bridge and also Greyfriar’s Bobby which are both a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

We stayed in room 105 which is a one bedroom apartment per the Marriott website and the room was identical to the pictures on the website. The room was extremely homely and functional and had everything you could possible need for a comfortable weekend away. You would have had no problems eating in the room if you preferred not to eat out, having the kitchenette with microwave and dishwasher. There was a good TV channel choice and a very comfortable seating area, plenty of hanging space and an ipod docking station. The room was very large, however, the one thing we didn’t like about the room was the layout as the bathroom is extremely small and it is a bit of squeeze to get into the shower. Personally we felt that there was a lot of wasted space in the kitchen area and that a larger bathroom would have been more beneficial in the room. The room was also very warm with centralized heating, however, as we were there in February this was not an issue for us as the windows do open to let some fresh air if required.

The bed was extremely comfortable and we slept well and did not hear any noise from other rooms or from the corridor or outside.

The room was large and spotlessly clean throughout. The lady from room service knocked on our door about 1pm as we had our do not disturb sign and she simply asked us if we wanted the room made up or required any items from the trolley, however, we declined as we were only there for another night.

As I am a Marriott rewards member we were upgraded on check-in to a one bedroom apartment from a queen studio which was a really nice touch. The service we received throughout our entire stay was excellent. In particular, the reception staff were very friendly and approachable. The man we dealt with was definitely Scottish I can’t remember his full name, his surname I believe was McClintock, he was most helpful providing us with restaurant suggestions, and details on where to visit in the city. The breakfast was also quite good although as other reviewers have mentioned the area in which it is served is a little cramped. There are trays available, however, so that you can bring you breakfast to your room.

The room rate we paid was £97.75 per room per night directly through the Marriott website. With breakfast included and given the location of the hotel we found this to be good value. I guess this rate would be considered middle of the road for Edinburgh but given the level of comfort that is offered for this rate we were more than happy with it.

Overall, I would definitely return to this hotel and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others looking for somewhere clean, modern, comfortable and affordable in a great location in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: The one bedroom apartment is very spacious and has a nice separate living are and kitchen. bathroom is a bit of a squeeze though.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irishtrekker3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Location is a bit distant as this is a on going development area but it will improve, hotel standard is very high, rooms are excellent, very large and comfortable, highly recommended, no restaurant but there is a bar and plenty of snacks staff very helpfull

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hallchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews