We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #37 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is an overall good hotel, surrounded in a quite area close to Edinburgh University, Castle and the Museum. It has a lovely, quite atmosphere. I stayed for three nights and couldn't fault it. breakfast is complimentary so you cant complain much.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naziakhaliq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,086)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

724 - 730 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

In truth, we stayed at the Residence Inn because we had some Marriott gift vouchers. That said, the hotel was very clean, located a short walk from the Royal Mile and Grassmarket with spacious rooms. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The only criticism is the breakfast was only ok and we eneded up going next door to the Starbucks instead. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay although if we visited Edinburgh again, we might stay over in the New City since we got a real good feel for the Old City during this trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raoul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent 5 days,during the Fringe at the Residence Inn. We had a room with two queen beds which comfortably accommodated three adults. The Inn is very well located for the Fringe and is well maintained. Breakfast was quite sufficient. The staff was friendly and informative. My only issue was the lack of any air conditioning during what I learned was a rare hot spell. The vin definitely offers great value for the service, location and accommodations.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room with afternoon sun.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a great welcome! After a 7-hour delay in flights, the staff was very understanding and made every effort to get us to our room as quickly as possible. They were quick to satisfy our every need - at checkout, we needed a taxi, and one of their desk clerks called one for us before we had even asked. Such a nice taste of hospitality in a big city!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask about wheelchair accessible rooms. We ended up in one even though it wasn't re...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethal17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My favourite part of my stay here was the staff, just little things, like a genuine warm welcome and goodbye really make a difference.

Pros
* Amazing staff - really friendly in an unpretentious way.
* Free wifi
* Standard breakfast - not too shabby
* Large rooms

Cons
* No air conditioning, even in Scottish weather the rooms get very clamy.
* A little off the beaten track, our taxi driver couldn't even find it
* I had problems with my pillows being too soft (a regular issue with Residence Inns by Marriott) but they swapped them for me with tougher pillows.
* The wash facilities are in the bedroom itself, which can be a little awkward.
* Some rooms come with token cooking facilities such as a microwave and a dishwasher, which goes to waste, how many microwave meals need a dishwasher, a hob or regular oven would be more appreciated.

Anyway, as you can see - the cons are just minor. The pros far outweigh the cons.
I would consider staying here again for sure.
Thanks Marriott!

Room Tip: Ask for a cool room in summer as there is no air conditioning.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincejd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Having just completed a two-week tour of both Scotland and Ireland we were overjoyed to check into the Residence Inn. Our room was ready prior to the listed check in time and the staff was very cordial and helpful. The suite was quite comfortable and well appointed. We have stayed at Residence Inn facilities on quite a few occasions and found this location to be among the best. The location is excellent for walking access to Old Town Edinburgh. The daily included breakfast is quite good and provides a good selection of items. I highly recommend the Edinburgh Residence Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russminton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have really enjoyed my stay here and I am overwhelmed with the generosity of both the hotel and the staff. The facilities here are second to none and I absolutely recommend the Residence Inn!! Whenever I was searching for something to do or look at the staff were more than accommodating with the best attractions Edinburgh has to offer.

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank Chrisnz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#56 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,660 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
4,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Edinburgh

Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $128 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh offers short and long-stay accommodations in Edinburgh, Scotland. At our hotel, set a pace that suits you, whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development, you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing