We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal weekend base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #36 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed at the Residence Inn for a weekend. The hotel is really centrally located which is great and is in the middle of the quarter mile development which means it's quiet.

The staff were very friendly & helpful. Got a very spacious twin room & the beds as always were extremely comfortable. The only small complaint I have is that the bathroom was very small (saying that the shower itself had plenty of room) but everything is very clean and modern which makes up for the lack of space.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catoregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

830 - 836 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

We went on a short 7 day Trip to Edinburgh. It was very nice Experience since I always wanted to cook in staying in hotel. We washed our clothes, cooked food and stayed comfortably. Its at walkable distance from Princess Street which is the best part. The Breakfast is not good. Staff is helpful and hotel is very clean. So, overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pankmehra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had 2 rooms here over New Years and stayed for a week. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Although air conditioning would have been nice, its easy to turn off the heater and the room cools off pretty quickly. The location is great, a fairly short walk to the center and pretty centrally located for just about everything in town. There is a small bar and you can also order food should it be necessary. There is also a small shop with snacks in the lobby. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and not complain.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calvin_Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner and baby. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was spacious, clean and modern. There was no sound to be heard from other guests or staff. It was very comfortable and the cot provided was great too. Lovely to have a kitchen area as well. Breakfast was lovely, a nice selection of hot and cold food. However the toaster was the slowest I've ever seen!! Good location, 5 mins walk to the old town and about 15 to the new part of town. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lou187064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a cracking hotel, the area is smart, reception is well laid out with great staff. Rooms are large and well furnished- walk in shower with great pressure, ipod dock, tv, fridge, microwave and even a dishwasher! All appears to be brand new so cleanliness is impeccable. Beds comfy, and rooms well sound insulated as never heard a sound from elsewhere. Also love the room height windows with good views over the city.

Breakfast very adequate, excellent range and kept well stocked.

I wish all hotels could set such high standards!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex_44_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here on NYE 2012 only to find myself experiencing quite a few problems. The room was an interconnecting one (the other room was being used by another couple so the door was lock) however, all we could hear was them talking (at a normal volume) all night long. It wasn't as if they were shouting or anything, they were having a "normal" conversation. Now stying there at NYE, you expect to maybe be woken by drunken customers but not this. We were not advised on check-in whether an interconnecting room was ok and having tried to ring to reception to complain various points in the early hours, the phone wouldn't work. The room was also a ridiculously hot temperature and when we finally figure out how to open the sliding door/window, it was far too noisy outside. The room did have a fan but again, was very loud although it did drown out the conversation from next door. Surely in this day and age, hotels like this one should have air conditioning? I did complain in the morning and the manager did feel that there wasn't anything really they had done wrong however, they did give me a small refund to compensate for the stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Likestotravelallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in October.

Convenient location about 10-15 minutes walk from Waverly Station and other major spots. The surrounding area was quiet; a mixture of residential, students, small shop and a few pubs.
Hotels itself is very well appointed. New, clean and comfortable. The rooms are on the small side well designed. Rooms included a small kitchen area, which we did not use. Bathrooms are tiny but spotless. Another plus is the free wifi throughout. One minus was that walls seem very thin; we had to move on the second night due to a crying baby next door, however the staff were very accommodating in meeting our request.

Breakfast was included in the rate and proved excellent; really good selection served in the lobby bar.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Overall, a first class experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richmondbois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,677 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Edinburgh

Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $123 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh offers short and long-stay accommodations in Edinburgh, Scotland. At our hotel, set a pace that suits you, whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development, you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing