We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #35 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
argentina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Location is one of the best, to know this wonderfull city. The enclave is quiet but you have many choices arround to eat, drink or just walk. Resindence inn offer well apointed suites, you can even cook your meal there and the breakfast is a must.

Room Tip: I always ask for a hig floor, they offer a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monisame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    345
    91
    19
    8
See reviews for
193
507
36
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DURHAM
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stopped here for 4 nights and loved the hotel and the fab room.
The staff were all helpful, friendly and eager to please. Our room (317) was spacious and clean. It was nice to have a little kitchen as well as an office/desk area.
The location is pretty central with only a 20 min walk to the castle. The free breakfast is a lovely touch with plenty to choose from, cooked, continental, cereal, yogurt, fruit etc.
On the Tuesday night there was even a social evening with free food... What more can you ask for.
We'll definitely be visiting again...soon

Room Tip: We ad room 317. Very spacious for 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here on a weekend break to the city; the area is great, a five/ten (max) minute walk to the Royal Mile, in the new Quartermile district near the University. The hotel has all the amenities you would want, and the room was clean, tidy and well-equipped. The front of house staff were very helpful and answered all our questions, as well as providing great local knowledge. The breakfast (included in our room rate) set us up for the day (and the cold weather!) and saved us having to find somewhere to eat. All in all, very comfortable, just what we needed and great base from which to see the city.

Room Tip: The area is still pretty quiet at the moment and there are no busy thoroughfares running around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puppen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on a trip around Great Britian. We drove up late after spending the day in Liverpool and it didn't help that we got hopelessly lost driving around Edinburgh trying to find the hotel. This hotel is in an area where they are building a bunch of new stuff, so many of the people we were asking for help didn't know where it was. Once we did find it, you couldn't ask for a much better location. Walking distance from the Royal Mile and the Castle. The most impressive thing about the hotel was the night audit crew...they could see we had a rough time finding the place and they made up some tea for us while we checked in. This was an excellent touch. The only bad thing: if you are looking for a workout room, this isn't the best place: four treadmills and a limited number of free weights. That's minor though...I'd tell anyone going to Edinburgh to stay here...with a GPS

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdbasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here on our 10 day break in Edinburgh. We loved the area which is bounded by the emerging Quatermile residential and office area and the University. Great room with plenty of space. Good bed and bathroom facilities. Staff were wonderful - highly personable and extremely efficient. A credit to the management. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PompeyTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Very clean, central, quiet, beautifully designed, close to castle and university, and most friendly staff. Includes rich breakfast. British Airways was too slow to get my suitcase on time to Edinburgh and then to the hotel and so the staff offered to get it for me and let me check-in early. This is definitely my first choice for the next visits in Edinburgh!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamaramente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four nights when we arrived in Scotland at the beginning of October. The hotel was very welcoming and relaxing, with comfortable bedding, a window that opened and a good breakfast in the morning. The sink area was outside the rest of the bathroom which was convenient. The staff was exceptional. It really helped us get a good start on our trip by staying somewhere so pleasant. There are even free washers and dryers available off the lobby, something we did not find elsewhere on our trip. From here we walked to the Castle, Waverly train station and the museums easily. We spent some time looking at places to stay before we took the trip and were very pleased with this choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank re_teachIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Edinburgh

Property: Residence Inn Edinburgh
Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're delighted to bring you the UK's first Residence Inn by Marriott offering you short and long stay Edinburgh accommodation. Set a pace that suits you at Residence Inn by Marriott. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing