We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
Ranked #37 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I have just wrapped up a three-night stay at the Residence Inn Edinburgh.

For starters, having read many reviews, I e-mailed the GM in advance to request a lower floor to combat the heat complaints. Amazing, he e-mailed back in minutes (on a Sunday) and openly acknowledged that the complaints were fair that he would do his best to accommodate our request (low floor – which he did). For better or worse, the weather was absurdly cool for July (low 50s) so it was never an issue. That said, we were upgraded to a 1BR which was an idyllic "home base" for our long weekend.

The room itself was – as others have reported – exceptionally modern. Hardwood floors, Bosch kitchen appliances, two flatscreen televisions and excellent shower water pressure pretty much fulfills every reasonable checklist. The hotel staff was excellent and it felt much more like a small, private apart-hotel than a Marriott property (not a complaint at all). I will agree that the breakfast area was very busy during what felt like just about the whole breakfast window but no big deal.

The location in Edinburgh was perfect. It was ten minutes walk to the Royal Mile and Grassmarket, three minute stumble to the nearest pubs, one minute to Starbucks and Sainsbury's. Clearly the Quartermile area is continuing to be developed but for now, it's a pleasant little urban oasis.

This is a great property in a great location in a great city. I'd return without thinking twice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verysnobbytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

907 - 913 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

The hotel here is pretty fairly new and built in the new Quartermile area right by the University of Edinburgh. It's very conveniently located about a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile but it's a great walk since you walk by a lot of other sites, shops and restaurants. It's also a 5 minute walk from the National Museum.

The room is very spacious and large with modern decor and floor to ceiling glass windows. It was pretty much the best hotel we stayed at on our entire 2-week vacation.

The staff was very friendly, nice and welcoming. The hotel includes breakfast which was a full breakfast with scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, cereals, yogurt, toasts, etc.

Nearby the hotel is a market which you can go to get groceries or water or drinks. There is also a great Malaysian restaurant right next to the hotel which serves amazing Malaysian food (even better than Malaysian food that we've had in Malaysia!).

We were also traveling around the countryside and returning to this hotel, and they let us store our luggage for no extra charges.

There is a lot of heat in the hallways of the upper floors. We stayed on the 6th floor and experienced the heat in the hallway which we couldn't understand why it was so hot. But the room inside was fine and we were able to open the windows which helped bring in the cold air. The second time we stayed on the 2nd floor and the heat wasn't too bad in the hallway.

There is only one elevator which takes forever to wait for since it can be pretty slow. And sometimes when you get in the elevator it takes you up before you can go down. That was the only annoying part of hotel.

Everything else was perfect! Would definitely recommend anyone to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrganizedTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our partner booked in us so we didn't even have a clue. We were in one-bedroom apartment which was relatively spacious except the bathroom (toilet and shower cubicle). The sink was between bedroom and bathroom which looked odd and had no space for toiletry.
It was close to the city centre and there was a market (forgot the name) and nice Malaysian restaurant near by. It is surrounded by apartments/office buildings so the curtain must be drawn all the time unless you don't mind.
It took forty minute taxi ride from the Edinburgh airport. The weather of the UK this summer (June 2012) was wet and cold so it wasn't surprising that corridor heating was pumping unbearably warm air. But the room temperature was comfortable. The lift was only one so it seems ages.
The frontdesk staff were very hlepful but somewhat short staffed as I saw them were busy taking care of incoming guests thus they couldn't answer the phone.
Wifi was free for unlimited devices. Loads of TV channels however, no bottled water was provided.
Overall very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huntsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband & i have just spent the weekend at the Marriott Residence in Edinburgh. It rained all weekend, but the warmth of the hotel made up for the weather.

The hotel was new, modern, very clean and great value. The hotel would be suitable for families, couples, groups, singles & business people.
The staff were exceptional, very friendly and not too busy to share a few words with us.
The breakfast was very good, everything we could have wanted was available, The hotel was near to the centre about a 10 minute walk, but if you want to stay near the hotel there are plenty of bars and restaurents to choose from.

We certainly will go back to this hotel again, hopefully the weather will be better.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

As good as a major city apart/hotel gets. Rooms spacious, facilities excellent, parking nearby, decent breakfast, pleasant and efficient staff.
I can't think of anything negative to report.
The location is also good - a short walk from the centre and main attractions. In fact better placed than most of the more central hotels.
If you are a wheelchair user it is even better news... free parking outside, lifts and excellent disabled facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights on a business trip. The first night I pulled back the sheets to get into bed and discovered excrement on the sheets. The sheets clearly had not been changed from the previous guest. I removed the sheets and put them on the floor with a note for the maid asking that the sheets be changed. In the morning I registered a complaint with the manager on duty. She apologized and asked if I would like to change rooms. I told her that I needed a change of bed sheets not a change of rooms. She promised that I would be compensated for this incident. To the hotel's credit they did not charge me for my first night's stay. The second problem that emerged with this hotel is the fact that it does not have air conditioning. I became aware of this problem when my colleague who had a room on the 7th floor complained of the stifling heat in his room. My room was on the 3rd floor and to be honest the temperature on my room was ok. I went to my colleague's room to check out how bad it was. The walk along the 7th floor corridor was like a sauna and his room still very warm despite him having a few windows open. I am assuming that the higher floors were warmer on the principle that hot air rises. It was not even all that warm outside with daytime highs in the low 60s. The hotel is new and is one of those structures whose outside wall is all glass. That might be part of the problem. In any case a modern hotel by a major US chain without air conditioning is unbelievable.

On the upside the hotel included complimentary WiFi and and a complimentary breakfast consisting of hot (bacon, sausage, eggs, baked beans) and cold (fruit, pastries etc.). The breakfast area was a little small however for the number of people eating breakfast. The front desk staff were friendly and attentive. The hotel has a very good location about a 10-15 minute walk from the Royal Mile in the heart of Edinburgh. Lots of eating and drinking options nearby.

Room Tip: Get a room on the lowest floor possible. Once you get above the 4th floor I suspect the room tempera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GeogProfOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I paid for my room only £80 a night, therefore cannot complain much as value for money was great. However, if I were to pay £150 and this is they current price on booking.com I would not be as satisfied. One could fine much better hotel for this price.

The room was very clean, practically spotless (extremely nice housekeeping staff, nicer than receptionists). I really liked the colours and furnitures. The kitchen annex is very useful if one doesn't fancy eating out (especially for longer stays). The bed could be a little bit more comfy, I couldn't sleep very well because it was too soft. Also, although the room was fresh and clean it was really badly designed. The sing was in the room and bathroom had a slide door, therefore I was up everytime my boyfriend was in the toilet (this is probably another reason for not sleeping well). The sink, for some weird reason, was in the room, not separated with any door. Suitable only for couples with no privacy issues ;)

Breakfasts were only average, and the breakfast area was very small. Luckily I got a table at the back, otherwise I would have eaten in the reception area ;/

The brightest side of this hotel is its location. There are still some building works around the hotel, however when they finish them it is going to be a great area to stay. It is quiet and only 10 min walk to the grass market and few more to the castle. I didn't have any problems with finding the hotel using my sat nav and some common sense ;)

Overall, I would not pay £150 a night as the hotel is not worth that much (oh, parking charge is £12 on the top of this price). They could do with few improvements, especially in the design department, maybe then the hotel could compete with other 4 and 5 stars hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,720 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#11 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh

Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $108 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh offers short and long-stay accommodations in Edinburgh, Scotland. At our hotel, set a pace that suits you, whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development, you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn By Marriott Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing