We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,239)
Filter reviews
1,239 results
Traveler rating
654
418
120
30
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
654
418
120
30
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quartermile area washers and dryers royal mile a small kitchen area simpson loan the breakfast area one bedroom suite sliding door corner room complimentary breakfast national museum of scotland no air conditioning building work minute walk toilet and shower two double beds hotel is located
Filter
Updating list...
1,016 - 1,021 of 1,239 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Hot, hot, hot. The designer wants shooting for creating this hothouse. We had to have the fan on all night to get a decent night's sleep as leaving the window open means you are woken up at an unearthly hour as the neighbours' rubbiosh is removed. How can an American chain make the mistake of not providing aircon? Other comments elsewhere about the bathroom are spot on - the shower temperature fluctuates wildly and the "bathroom" light also turns on a light in the bedroom. Why put the washbasin outside the bathroom? And why the sliding door? It;s not space saving just very bad design. The breakfast area is the lobby and is way too small to accommodate the number of people wishing to eat. The staff cannot clear tables quickly enough. And why have a pop-up toaster... people end up waiting for ages while someone does the toast to their liking. On the plus side the staff are very helpful (perhaps this is where they train them to deal with guests who complain?). The area is good and just right for the old town. I wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Heat rises - stay near the ground floor if possible.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Weststandl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Just want to say thank you to Svetlana for taking so much trouble to find me a cool room. Having read previous reviews on trip adviser I was worried about being too hot. I am a woman of certain age and cannot bear to be in a hot atmosphere. Svetlana helped us to find a lovely room on the east side of the building (307) with a sliding window that gives a very good draft. That said, the corridors are unbelievably hot. Lovely room, modern, everything you could need. The water in the shower does go hot and cold, but at least it wakes you up! Location could not be better, 15 mins from Castle, Royal Mile etc. Breakfast was excellent. Did not get too crowded when we were there, but really good choice, hot and cold. Staff were excellent throughout the stay - a real credit to Marrott. Nothing too much trouble. Would stay again if in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Make sure you talk to Svetlana about getting a cool room
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B0urnem0uthTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had a delightful room to start our two week Scotland holiday, we ended up with a corner room studio which gave us ample room to get ourselves organized. Even though it never got hot while we were in Edinburgh, we appreciated the good ventilation that the corner room offered. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful, the breakfast offerings ample, and the location to be excellent. The kitchen nook was very useful and really facilitated our ability to not eat out every night. Along with the complete breakfast offerings, this place really is a screaming deal. We watched the Olympic Torch go by just a block away while enjoying fabulous crepes from a streetside stand called Brasil Crepes, which is just a short walk up the close to the main street.

Room Tip: Corner rooms allow for more natural ventilation.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mowfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Don't normal write reviews but I loved the Residence Inn in Edinburgh. I would definitely stay here again. Breakfast was included and very tasty indeed. Our room was spacious, clean and well laid out - there was a lovely balcony, the double bed and couch were super comfy and the shower was huge. You could also dock your ipod into the clock/ radio - what more could a girl want.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We found the location to be great for visiting Edinburgh Castle and the Royal Mile. The hotel is difficult to find, as the GPS instructs you to turn on a street that was blocked by stanchions. I finally had to get out of the car and walk down that street to see a sign for the hotel, and walk there to ask at the front desk where we needed to turn. My spouse returned our car to the airport after dropping off our luggage, then took the airport bus back to town for only 3.50. It is a 30 minute walk from the drop off point, though, to the hotel. You will not need a car for doing the major sights in Edinburgh, and the daily parking fee at the hotel is high.

Our studio room was spacious, with a sink separated from the bathroom. We redeemed Marriott points for our 3 night stay, which is why I rated the value excellent. It was nice to have a little refrigerator for drinks. There is a small Sainsbury's only a block away where you can buy sandwiches, salads, beer, wine, or whatever else you want for an in-room dinner - lots cheaper than ordering from the restaurant, and open late.

As others have noted, the hallways of the hotel are like a sauna - it is so warm and humid, you just want to run from your room to the stairwell. Thankfully, the stairwells were cool. What were they thinking - to not have A/C in a brand new multi-story hotel??

There are no nice views from the rooms, only other high rise offices and residences. I was told there was a nice view from corner Room 707 (I believe) of Edinburgh Castle - but that was the ONLY room with a view!

When we asked at the front desk about a taxi to the airport in preparation for our departure, we were told 4 different prices by 4 different employees, but one did say the hotel had a contract with drivers to take hotel guests for 25 pounds. As I had asked a driver parked just up the street (the one with the stanchions) the previous day how much it was to go to the airport and he had told us 17-18 pounds, we simply rolled our bags up the street and got a taxi there - for 16 pounds. Quite worth the short walk.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whencanwego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews