We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,232)
Filter reviews
1,232 results
Traveler rating
651
415
119
30
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
651
415
119
30
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquartermile areawashers and dryersroyal milea small kitchen areasimpson loanthe breakfast areaone bedroom suitesliding doorcorner roomcomplimentary breakfastnational museum of scotlandno air conditioningbuilding workminute walktoilet and showertwo double bedshotel is located
Filter
Updating list...
1,015 - 1,020 of 1,232 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Don't normal write reviews but I loved the Residence Inn in Edinburgh. I would definitely stay here again. Breakfast was included and very tasty indeed. Our room was spacious, clean and well laid out - there was a lovely balcony, the double bed and couch were super comfy and the shower was huge. You could also dock your ipod into the clock/ radio - what more could a girl want.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We found the location to be great for visiting Edinburgh Castle and the Royal Mile. The hotel is difficult to find, as the GPS instructs you to turn on a street that was blocked by stanchions. I finally had to get out of the car and walk down that street to see a sign for the hotel, and walk there to ask at the front desk where we needed to turn. My spouse returned our car to the airport after dropping off our luggage, then took the airport bus back to town for only 3.50. It is a 30 minute walk from the drop off point, though, to the hotel. You will not need a car for doing the major sights in Edinburgh, and the daily parking fee at the hotel is high.

Our studio room was spacious, with a sink separated from the bathroom. We redeemed Marriott points for our 3 night stay, which is why I rated the value excellent. It was nice to have a little refrigerator for drinks. There is a small Sainsbury's only a block away where you can buy sandwiches, salads, beer, wine, or whatever else you want for an in-room dinner - lots cheaper than ordering from the restaurant, and open late.

As others have noted, the hallways of the hotel are like a sauna - it is so warm and humid, you just want to run from your room to the stairwell. Thankfully, the stairwells were cool. What were they thinking - to not have A/C in a brand new multi-story hotel??

There are no nice views from the rooms, only other high rise offices and residences. I was told there was a nice view from corner Room 707 (I believe) of Edinburgh Castle - but that was the ONLY room with a view!

When we asked at the front desk about a taxi to the airport in preparation for our departure, we were told 4 different prices by 4 different employees, but one did say the hotel had a contract with drivers to take hotel guests for 25 pounds. As I had asked a driver parked just up the street (the one with the stanchions) the previous day how much it was to go to the airport and he had told us 17-18 pounds, we simply rolled our bags up the street and got a taxi there - for 16 pounds. Quite worth the short walk.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whencanwego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Marriott Residence Inn in Edinburgh turned out to be a wonderful surprise. I have stayed in many Residence Inns in the USA but the new Residence Inn in Edinburgh far exceeded any one in the USA. Very stylish, highly efficient design of the rooms, floor to ceiling windows in the room, excellent amenities, free breakfast and a small bar in the lobby. Staff was very friendly. Good location only a few blocks from the National Museum of Scotland! Highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pate1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed just one night here, wished it had been longer. A great base for exploring Edinburgh with open plan kitchen, well appointed lounge, poer shower and comfortable bed. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food served all day until midnight,and good breakfast. car parking just below hotel. got a deal so will look for one again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANNCPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend and would stay here again! In a good location (not right downtown but still very central). The rooms were new, clean, and the decor was very modern. The furnishings reminded me of an Ikea store. As others have said, the hallway was like walking into a sauna and the room wasn't well ventilated. But otherwise we had a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews