We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afraid the air conditioning is an issue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
Ranked #37 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2012

As others have noted, this hotel has an air conditioning issue. Actually, we also found it had a plumbing issue--specifically, our room needed a good mixing valve behind its water fixtures. The sink temperature fluctuated rather wildly, and, even more troubling, the shower would swing back and forth from hot to cold with occasional passes through warm. Fortunately, the shower stall was rather large, so dancing out of the way of the blasts at one temperature extreme or the other was easy enough. Still, it made for a rather difficult shower.

Back to the air conditioning issue. We were fortunate enough to be in one of the rooms that had a balcony with a large, sliding glass door. So we could open that and let cool air in from outside. This seems to be part of the idea of not providing air conditioning--that Edinburgh's outside air normally is cool enough to make this an acceptable approach. There are a few problems with this. For one, some rooms don't get enough ventilation to make this work, as noted by others. For another, the hallway outside our door was a sauna. While walking through that may seem a minor inconvenience, it's quite a blast (we're talking about temperatures well into the 80s) and isn't very pleasant, especially when taking laundry down or back up (which is one of the conveniences of this hotel--being able to do laundry).

For us, the biggest problem with this approach was that we both were allergic to something that apparently was in the air when we visited. So we had a choice--either toast in the room or open that sliding glass and suffer with our allergies, tempered only by whatever relief we could get from allergy medications.

Regarding the included breakfast, the food was mediocre at best, but there's a Sainsbury just steps away, and we grabbed things from there and stocked the kitchenette in our room as an alternative. Of course, that's an added cost, but the breakfast really wasn't great and seating was entirely inadequate for the number of people.

With all of that said, the service was good and the hotel itself is quite nice. The location is good, the bed is comfortable, and sitting on the balcony as the sun sets was a lovely way to end a day. They do have work to do on the issues I and others have mentioned, but there are worse choices out there. So I suppose we'd stay there on a future visit to Edinburgh, but the "I suppose we'd stay there" would change to "we'd definitely stay there" if they'd do something about getting air conditioning set up!

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms seem to be the one with the balconies and big sliding glass doors. I'd go fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessnyus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

950 - 956 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is the first Marriott Residence Inn in the UK and the second in Europe. I wish there were more. Our room was massive and had a desk, couch, comfortable bed, refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, plates, cups, utensils, recessed lighting throughout, and a terrific shower in the bathroom. The location is in what appears to be a new development in Edinburgh - the Quartermile. It is 5 minutes from the action of Grassmarket and 15 minutes from the Royal Mile. The hotel staff were fantastic and unfailingly helpful. They gladly accommodated our request to make up the room first so that we could return with our dog who could rest in the room undisturbed whilst we did some sightseeing. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank woodylimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Being new the fit out and cleanliness of the accomodation is outstanding. 10 minute walk to the tourist spots, the Castle, Royal Mile. Breakfast was satisfying. Staff helpful and efficient. Wi-fi works well. Self catering, with a Sainsbury store just around the corner, was simple.

My only hassle during our five day stay was the single lift servicing seven floors, approx.110 apartments, be prepared for a wait at peak times, say between 7 and 9 in the morning. Also the lack of a full size table in the apartment did not make sense to me, there was plenty of room to spare. Eating dinner balancing the plates on our knees in front of the TV was not enjoyable as the table in the room was narrow, with a table light, designed for computer use only.

Would definitely stay here again as the postion of the hotel and layout of the suites made up for any short comings.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IMVO19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is a new hotel just off the George IV Bridge, well-located outside the tourist core at the north end of the Meadow in the heart of Edinburgh University. It is sleek and bright, surrounded by new, low-rise offices and condos. The hotel is quiet and generally clean – housekeeping could improve a little - such as dust in dust in the corners - but this may be new-hotel growing pains. The two-room suites are small and not that well-appointed for self-catering, the way travellers to North American Residence Inn locations are accustomed. Staff members are friendly and helpful, the breakfast is plentiful with a variety of hot and cold choices. The breakfast area is tiny so arrive early to get a table. Good value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santenay1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Travelmom21 suggests staying in odd numbered rooms when the weather is warm in Edinburgh. Forget about it! We stayed in an odd number room on floor seven and our travel thermometer stayed in the low 80's to high 70's. The port hole window and oscillating fan were hopeless. The GM acknowledges that the RI has a problem and they are considering their options.
On the bright side, if the weather is cool, this would be a wonderful place to stay. Great staff and local conveniences and near the tourist area.

Room Tip: Go when it is cold!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 13blaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights. Excellent accommodations in every way. Front desk staff is cordial and extremely helpful. Included breakfast includes scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, fresh fruit salads, cereals, pastries, etc. Free wi-fi and free self-service laundry machines. Just around the corner are a well-stocked convenience store and Starbucks. Peter’s Yard nearby is great for pastries, sandwiches. About 15-20 minute walk to Royal Mile and Waverley Station. Hotel is near bus stop for route 35 for inexpensive transportation to airport in one hour. See the Lothian bus website (other helpful routes near the hotel are 23, 27, and 36). http://www.lothianbuses.com/

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My wife and 9 year old daughter spent a weekend in Scotland and stayed at the Residence Inn Edinburgh.

As soon as we arrived, the lady at the front desk (whose name I have unfortunately forgotten) greeted us with a sincere smile and welcomed us (she was genuinely welcoming none of the fake contrived stuff you get in most places nowadays). We were early so we left our luggage before exploring the city. She asked us to sit down and enjoy the contiental buffet breakfast service that was underway when we came in. We declined as we had already eaten breakfast at the airport.

When we got back after exploring, we found out that the available room was a wheel chair friendly room. As we are a bit particular about having a separte bath or shower area from the toilet (we don't want the whole floor wet) we asked if they could move us to another room (on a weekend before Easter we knew this would not be easy). Svetlana at the front desk said she would do her best. She also helped us locate a Roman Catholic Church that we had trouble finding on google maps.

Svetlana was able to find us another room and we promptly transferred. All throughout the staff were great! The location is also a short walk to high street where most of the attractions are. It's also on a more quiet and newer area- which on the downside may be difficult to locate.

All in all it was a relaxing 2 night stay and it made our Scotland trip more memorable.

Jun, Mayu and Billie Contreras
Makati, Philippines

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masig88h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#60 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,336 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#11 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh

Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $99 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh offers short and long-stay accommodations in Edinburgh, Scotland. At our hotel, set a pace that suits you, whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development, you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn By Marriott Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing