We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
Ranked #37 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Good location, very clean, good breakfast, large room. Only drawback was a bit of late-night noise from some rowdy passers-by, but as it's in a student area, only to be expected, and was not a major problem.
The thing that stood out about this hotel though was the staff. Without exception they were friendly and helpful, in fact they went out of their way to help.
Would stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.
I have stayed in a few hotels in Edinburgh, and this was the best.
(Holiday Inn please note- this is what customer service should be)

Room Tip: A smaller suite gives plenty of livng space if you are staying more than one night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KABLancs_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

976 - 982 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2012

First of all have to say that I am Canadian and a Marriott Platinum member so my expectations are set high.

The room was nice but the hotel does not offer rollaway beds, if you are travelling with a family this is more of an need that a nice to have. The sofa in my suite was comfy but not that comfy! Otherwise all the other Residence Inn conveniences were there, but I feel that this isn't a true Residence Inn because of the limited number of suite sizes (bachelor and one bedroom).

The European frugality with space also showed up in the breakfast area (basically just an extension of the lobby and bar). I don't like having to limbo dance round pillars and my fellow guests to get to my table. So forget it guys, give up some revenue space on the ground floor and extend that area.

The piece-de-la-resistance was the fire alarm at 7:30am on a weekday morning, propelling myself and my terrified eight year old daughter out into the cold, windy Edinburgh morning in our night clothes. The manager breezily to all the assembled guests before we were all let back in but when I checked out no further explanation was given and no compensation offered. I guess I should be happy I was not cooked in a fire!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irvinenomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

If your looking for a central location (ten mins walk from the Castle) and a First Class Hotel Look no farther . We stayed here the week before Easter and really enjoyed it !
Its a brand new hotel in a new developement with everything you may need close to hand its that new the taxi driver couldnt find it !
It has all the Stuff you would expect from a Residence Inn and is the first one in the UK .
I havent had a bad stay in a Marriott Brand hotel yet and i recomend it to any US visitors who expect a certain standard from a Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QBranchEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We were so impressed by the staff at this hotel! We arrived very late and had a rental car from the airport. There is construction in the area so the GPS was having difficulty finding the hotel. It seemed like we were driving around in circles. I said to my husband he should call the hotel and just ask if they could give us directions from where we were. The problem was we really didn't know where we were! My husband did end up parking and calling the hotel. A young man (Ross) helped him with directions but it was difficult because it seemed that the way he was telling us was closed during the construction. Ross then asked my husband for the make of the car and the license number. He told him to just stay put and he would come and find us. We were both in shock when Ross pulled up about 5 min later to escort us to the hotel! We told him that we have never had this type of service before! He said that we shouldn't thank him but his colleague at the front desk (Agata) who actually was staying after her shift ended so he could come and help us! It was my first time to Scotland and Edinburgh. This level of customer service just made me fall in love with this place. The hotel was new and very stylish! We loved our room and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast too. Yes, it's true that the breakfast area is small but we learned during our 5 night stay to just go early. All the staff were very friendly and willing to share any info that you needed.

The location was great and we walked everywhere! Peter's Yard next door had very good pizza! We also enjoyed how close the National Museum of Scotland was on the rainy/snowy day that we didn't know what to do. What a wonderful museum. We especially want to thank Ross and Agata for the warm welcome to their beautiful hotel. We highly recommend this hotel for location and service!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryJoette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We had two rooms for us and our three teenage sons. It could not have been better. The location is a five minute walk to the Royal Mile and five minutes to Grassmarket. The rooms are large and well-appointed. The staff is unbelievably good. They are always smiling, incredibly friendly and very helpful. We were there for only four days, but they seem like old friends already. Plus, there is a decent breakfast every morning with hot and cold food. And don't miss the afternoon cookies!

Another Marriott success.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbright31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The staff was extremely friendly. There was a nice selection of breakfast items. The rooms were spacious. The facility was clean. For those who like Starbucks...there is one just around the corner. Within walking distance to shopping and attractions. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VFlores111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Just returned from Edinburgh and the new Residence inn. Having stayed at many RIs in the USA, I had high expectations for this hotel. Overall the hotel ticked all the boxes. Nice welcoming lobby and staff in front desk and bar. Breakfast was good and restocked often although area by the hot food was a bit cramped and overcrowded at times. Rooms were trendier than US RIs but same set up with kitchen etc. One criticism was the bathroom in room 102 was cold since it was on the outside with a big windown but had no heating. Also the paintwork and finishing round tiles in the bathroom was already looking a bit worn so will need to be re-done quite quickly. Everything else was good in room. Only one other criticism was that the door leading to the stairwell banged as people came through instead of using the 1 lift that was annoyingly slow. Location was good near the university and just outside city centre but everywhere was a walk or short cab ride. All in all, good modern hotel at reasonable rates within short distance of all Edinburgh's best bits.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BournemouthCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#60 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,634 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,336 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh

Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $99 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh offers short and long-stay accommodations in Edinburgh, Scotland. At our hotel, set a pace that suits you, whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development, you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn By Marriott Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing