We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST Hotel in Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #35 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“BEST Hotel in Edinburgh”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

The hotel location is a short five minute walk from the Royal Mile, property is brand new and many of the rooms are still unused, the hotel staff are great (if you need any help, ask for Claire), and the free breakfast is refreshing. Only issue is the out of control heat in the hotel hallways. Compared to the other higher end Edinburgh hotels, this new property is the BEST including best value.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice, but make sure you open the windows to air out the "new room smell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcgrayburnjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    350
    92
    20
    8
See reviews for
200
510
37
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

So I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in the second week of opening, here are my views. This is only my second stay in a Residence Inn as the concept is new for Europe, however I tend to spend my time in full service Marriotts and have spent much of the last 2 years around the two other Marriotts in Edinburgh.

Living Area/Kitchen: So, to say this is meant to be a long term stay hotel then I was slightly surprised that there wasn't a basic cooking plate. There was however a nice looking Bose microwave oven and cups/plates/cutlery for 4 people, along with a large fridge, dishwasher and kettle. I liked the living area, it had a nice buffet and sofa, would easily take 2/3 people but you wouldn't be too comfortable having more than that there for any length of time. All the equipment in the rooms were was new and from a well known brand. No real welcome gifts just a few teabags and biscuits (e.g. no water) so everything is pretty bare until you do your shopping.

Bedroom: My bedroom was rather tight with a double bed, not much space around the edges but comfortable and with some very whizzy looking alarm clock. There was a small wardrobe, drawers, iron plus board and full length mirror so fully functional for a business stay.

Bathroom: No bath, only a walk-in shower (which I prefer). The sink was outside of the bathroom area itself, felt a little unstable when you rested your weight on it but did its job.

Entertainment: Two flat screen TVs (one for the main room and one for the bedroom), looked to be 32". They had a full UK freeview (about 40 channels) and the remote was easy enough to use. No in-room movies or DVD players available so if you didn't see anything on TV you'd have to look elsewhere. Otherwise from the hotel perspective it was I didn't attend any of the social evenings or eat breakfast, however it looked to be suitable enough for the price (good hours, 6.30 till 11 was mentioned for breakfast). Not sure if there was a gym/pool etc (I think not) as it wasn't mentioned and I didn't ask.

Location: The hotel is in an area that is still being developed, around it are new apartment blocks and offices, however within about 50m there are buildings still under construction (no noise at night). Taxis don't know the hotel yet, but do know the street. I always got a taxi here as it was a little out of the city centre, however it was close to the university area and I think in a year when everything around it is complete this will be quite a buzzing little area of the city, there were other shops/offices mentioned as opening soon.

So, in general a very nice place to stay - spacious and a small modern apartment. However, whilst I like the concept of the hotel doing your shopping (know this is standard for a Residence Inn) without any proper cooking area you are very limited in what you can do, unless you like microwave or cold meals. It didn't seem to have the features of a serviced apartment (though was priced similarly), but without many of the features that make a hotel beneficial. I could have missed out on much that was offered as there was no welcome leaflet or booklet in the room (so nothing documenting hours of breakfast, services offered etc). I was also a little surprised that the sofa was too small to sleep on, so you couldn't have a friend stay over.

Will I be back: Maybe, but its more likely I'll continue to stay in my full service hotels and I'm not cancelling those reservations yet. It was a pleasant change and I think I'll be tempted if I stay over weekends or when friends are visiting.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littev0ices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

My husband and myself stayed here for two nights .. it was a lovely experience, staff friendly and welcoming...room was fantastic and we will definately be going again...It was a nice break,,,only compalint if i had one was the heat in the corridors was too high

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz6s9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid,España
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

This hotel has a good locations just a few minutes away to the Castle and the main attractions.
We stayed 2 night at the Hotel and the experience was brilliant
Check in was friendly and efficient.
The room was huge and pleasantly decorated.Very clean.
Continental breakfast was delicious.Good products and good services.
Dont spend your money in old hotels and try something new in town like this hotel.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Victorjara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We had great difficulty finding this hotel, but once found (with David's help) it is a wee gem. All mod cons. We were the 3rd resident at this new hotel, so it would be impossible to fault the cleanliness. There is a mico -wave (might even be a combination oven), kettle, toaster, fridge and and a dishwasher in the room. The location was great, just around the corner from Greyfriar's Bobby and about a 10 min walk to Prince's Street, we took a taxi back from Waverly station with our shopping it cost in the region of £5. The FREE breakfast in the morning was just what was needed with plenty of staff to keep the food repleneshed and the restaurant pristine at all times. Keep it up, we will return. David was a star, he went out of his way to find us and ensure we had an enjoyable stay, thank you.

Room Tip: There is an ice machine near the lift on the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Edinburgh

Property: Residence Inn Edinburgh
Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're delighted to bring you the UK's first Residence Inn by Marriott offering you short and long stay Edinburgh accommodation. Set a pace that suits you at Residence Inn by Marriott. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing