We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Large comfortable apartment with added bonus of...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 51/11 James Square

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen/Diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
37 reviews
Kitchen/Diner
Kitchen
Master en-suite
Master en-suite
Bedroom 2 (as king size option)
Bedroom 3
Bathroom
Hallway
Swimming Pool
BBQ Area
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Colin K
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
“Large comfortable apartment with added bonus of swimming pool and great location”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Great apartments comfortable enough to cater for 4 adults, 3 children and 2 infants. Had everything we needed and the kids loved the pool. Didn't use the roof top terrace due to weather but imagine would have been nice if weather had been better. Free secure parking for car was perfect and due to location we parked car on arrival and didn't use again until leaving.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smaclaren
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation, great location!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

My friends and I stayed here for three nights for a hen party and it turned out to be just the best choice. The decor and standard of cleanliness was incredibly high and everything you could want was in the apartment on arrival. From booking to collecting the keys, everything was smooth and easy and the owners couldn't do enough to help us settle in - we even got a girly hamper of wine and treats! Fantastic location with easy access to anywhere in the town as its about fifteen minutes walk from everywhere. We didn't use the pool but it looked great. Would definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: February 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home feeling
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackiejill
Reviewed January 3, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Date of stay: December 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anglaise en France
Reviewed November 22, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Date of stay: November 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bright and interesting decor.
Liked least: The dining room table was a bit tight with eight people
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dani11
dani11
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Apartment & Location”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

The apartment was great -- spacious and in a convenient location. It was a quick walk to a few restaurants and a slightly longer walk/short cab ride to the Hogmanay celebration. The kitchen was well-stocked and we were able to make several meals for our big group. Unfortunately, the pool was closed for the holiday, but it also looked nice.

Date of stay: January 2012
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your favourable review, we really appreciate it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryannM...
Dudley, Massachusetts
1 review
“Convenient”
Reviewed July 23, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Convenient to grocery store, public transportation, within walking distance. The apartment was nice. I wish there were instructions on how to operate all the appliances including showers, although we did figure out most of them. I thought the tubs were hard to get into for the older members of our family as the sides were high and the tubs themselves were slippery. Even the teens had to be careful. I liked the secure garage for parking our rental vehicle and the kids liked the pool, although we at first didn't realize no street shoes could be worn into the pool area. Smart idea, but I didn't realize there were covers to put over our shoes. That's why a book or page of some instructions regarding the rental would have been a nice added touch. Audry, our contact, was nice and met us upon arrival. Quiet area.

Date of stay: May 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: slippery bath tubs
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback we appreciate you taking time out to leaving your thoughts. 
We don't leave instructions in the apartment as that makes it impersonal and we want you to feel at home that's why we assain a personal assistant with her personal number to meet & greet you and familiarise you with the apartment you can call her any time for assistance glad you found her helpfull.
First time we have received comments regarding the bath we usaly get (nice to have a good size bath). We have investigated and found it no more slippery than any other bath but we are going to fit anti-slip strips to the button for additional safety.

Thanks again John.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleaW
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Apartment - recommened to all!”
Reviewed February 15, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had an excellent stay at St James apartments!

The apartment is very modern inside, large and has everything you need for a few days away (or even longer). We went as a group of 8 on a girls weekend away and rented the apartment for two nights. On arrival, it was exactly as described and as per the pictures. The lounge is actually a lot bigger than it seems in the photographs and comfortable for us all.

The apartment was very clean and supplied plenty of towels for us all, and a few robes. The beds were very comfortable with crisp clean white sheets on each one.
There were even things like tea bags, coffee, sauces etc in the cupboards which was a nice little extra.

The only downside of our stay was that the pool/spa facilities were out of use, so I am unable to comment on these.

The location of the apartment was good for us, as it was a 10/15 minute walk to town so easily accessible!

I would recommend to all! The managment were very friendly and helpful on each occassion that I spoke to them.

Thanks for a lovely stay!

Date of stay: February 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the apartment and that it was modern and clean.
Liked least: Unable to use the spa/pool facilities.
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review!

Our apologies once again about the pool & spa, we're hoping that will be fixed this week and ready for your stay with us in the future.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you in Edinburgh again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing